GFL names strong provisional squad for annual Perth carnival

Neale HarveyKalgoorlie Miner
Mines Rovers’ Daniel Braham and Boulder’s Jake Nuich have both been picked for the GFL squad.
Camera IconMines Rovers’ Daniel Braham and Boulder’s Jake Nuich have both been picked for the GFL squad. Credit: Carwyn Monck/Kalgoorlie Miner

Eleven players from reigning premiers Boulder are part of a strong provisional squad named this week by the Goldfields Football League for the upcoming Nutrien Ag Country Championships in Perth.

The Tigers’ contingent is led by Jake Nuich, Brett Blair and Andy Higgins, with Alex Stuart among 10 inclusions from Railways.

Mines Rovers, Kalgoorlie and Kambalda each have eight players named in the squad under Boulder premiership mentor Aaron Sweet.

Sweet moves into the role vacated by dual Mitchell medallist Rob Hansen, who stepped aside after leading the GFL to last year’s division two championship — highlighted by a 15-point win over Great Northern in the final.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Sweet takes over after guiding Boulder to a dramatic two-point win over Railways in last year’s GFL grand final, but he stood down in the off-season because of family and business commitments after ending a long wait for a flag following his team’s losses in the 2019, 2021 and 2022 grand finals.

Sweet arrived in the Goldfields after a 100-game career with East Perth in the WAFL that included 29 disposals in a losing effort against West Perth in the 2013 grand final.

Rory Gurr, Kyle Hams and Cam Grover have been named as Sweet’s assistant coaches.

The 2024 Nutrien Ag carnival is on July 13 and 14, with the GFL returning to division one after winning all five games last year.

Goldfields last claimed division one honours in 1992 with a team coached by former Claremont, Perth and Footscray winger Allen Daniels that trounced Eastern Districts in the A-section final by 65 points at Subiaco Oval.

Training sessions will be on July 1 and July 8 at Morrison Oval from 6pm.


From Boulder:

J. Nuich, B. Blair, A. Higgins, M. Cassidy, C. Johnson, J. Swallow, C. Grover, J. Hooks, B. Bishop, J. Ettia, D. Hamilton.

From Mines Rovers:

J. Delbridge, C. Delbridge, M. Braham, S. Burge, L. Hughes, D. Stevens, D. Braham, J. Schmidt.

From Railways:

A. Stuart, J. Reid, K. Penny, M. Vlasich, J. Edwards, D. Leach, G. Ugle, K. Hams, S. Edwards, J. Mathers.

From Kalgoorlie:

D. Clarke, J. Angus, B. Norris, J. Madden, J. Varian, T. Clark, B. Fiorentino, I.Billing.

From Kambalda:

R. Gurr, R. Fisher, Dylan Parker, J. Turner, K. Odine, D. Wellstead, J. Murray, N. Moore.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails