Teams split classic grand final victories despite Albany claiming overall victory in A and B-grade

Great Southern Herald
Katanning's Jarrod Williamson.
Camera IconKatanning's Jarrod Williamson. Credit: Tom Shanahan

Albany have shared the spoils in the annual Great Southern Eight-Ball Classic, held in Katanning on Saturday, May 1.

It was the competition’s 30th year and the committee recognised Graham Page in a small presentation for playing in the event every year.

The classic is a round-robin event, with all A-grade teams playing each other over the weekend and the same for B-grade sides.

Being the final, all teams were at Katanning.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Albany 1 were able to win both the A and B-grade competitions in the final round.

Albany’s George Ninte recorded the highest percentage in A-grade with 80 per cent followed by Katanning’s Ken Meers, Narrogin’s Adam Symonds, and Scott Cochrane all on 60 per cent.

In the B-grade Albany’s Damien Benson had the highest percentage with 75, while Katanning’s Adrian Matthews and Narrogin’s Jack Nankivell were next on 70 per cent.

In the grand finals Katanning 1 defeated Albany 1 in the A-grade while Albany 1 downed Katanning 1 in the B-grade grand final.

The CBH Dutch Doubles were held on Friday, April 30 as Murray Penn and John Leach were crowned open winners, while Ken Skinner and Danch Lee were runners-up.

Meers and Jarrod Williams were plate winners, while Symonds and Jake Hiscock finished runners-up.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails