State school strike Tuesday: Full list of public schools to be impacted

Headshot of Bethany Hiatt
Bethany HiattThe West Australian
The full list has been revealed.
Camera IconThe full list has been revealed. Credit: Don Lindsay/WA News

The full list of WA public schools set to be disrupted by next week’s teacher strike can be revealed.

More than 80 public schools across the State will either be closed or partially closed when teachers go out on strike next week.

The Education Department released a list naming all schools that will not have enough teachers on site to run all their programs, as of 2.30pm on Friday.

The list includes 22 schools that will be forced to close to students completely for half a day because they will not have enough teachers on site to supervise children.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Another 61 schools will be partially closed, with students from only some year groups attending.

The Education Department has been scrambling to do all it can to keep as many schools open as possible.

It required principals to notify it on how many teachers were likely to attend rallies being held across WA as the State School Teachers Union forges ahead with its first strike action in more than a decade.

Some schools that plan to open have told parents they will collapse classes in the morning, with “modified” teaching and learning activities provided to students across different age groups.

The list of closed schools includes six secondary schools and five education support centres for children with special needs.

The union on Monday revealed it had rejected the State Government’s second offer of an 11 per cent pay increase over three years, standing firm on its demand for 12 per cent over two years.

In an email sent to members late on Friday, it said that as of 10am the union had not received a further offer.

This meant the stop-work planned for Tuesday would go ahead, “as there is now no time left for any agreement in principle to be reached”.

Education Department director-general Lisa Rodgers said families would receive details of their schools’ plans.

Read the full list below, which is accurate as of 2.30pm Friday.

Schools closed during stop-work action

Albany Community Kindergarten

Avonvale Education Support Centre

Baynton West Primary School

Bunbury Senior High School

Castlereagh School

Champion Bay Senior High School

Collie Senior High School

Coolbellup Learning Centre

Geraldton Senior High School

Kensington Secondary School

Leda Education Support Centre

Lockyer Community Kindergarten

Malibu School

Orelia Primary School

Port Hedland Primary School

River Valley Primary School

Rockingham Beach Education Support Centre

Rockingham Senior High School Education Support Centre

Spencer Park Education Support Centre

Warnbro Community High School Education Support Centre

Wickham Primary School

Wongan Hills District High School

Schools partially open during stop-work action

Albany Primary School

Albany Senior High School

Alkimos College

Australind Senior High School

Avonvale Primary School

Beenyup Primary School

Bunbury Primary School

Busselton Primary School

Busselton Senior High School

Calista Primary School

Carnarvon Community College

Carson Street School

Cassia Primary School

Comet Bay College

Cowaramup Primary School

Denmark Senior High School

Dianella Secondary College

Eaton Primary School

Eden Hill Primary School

Flinders Park Primary School

Glencoe Primary School

Gwynne Park Primary School

Halls Head College

Hannans Primary School

Harrisdale Senior High School

Highgate Primary School

Hilton Primary School

Holland Street School

Huntingdale Primary School

Illawarra Primary School

Karratha Primary School

Kelmscott Senior High School

Leda Primary School

Makybe Rise Primary School

Manjimup Senior High School

Margaret River Primary School

Margaret River Senior High School

Merredin College

Narrogin Senior High School

Ngaanyatjarra Lands School

Noranda Primary School

North Kalgoorlie Primary School

North Mandurah Primary School

Nulsen Primary School

Picton Primary School

Pine View Primary School

Pinjarra Senior High School

Rapids Landing Primary School

Ravensthorpe District High School

Riverside Primary School

Roleystone Community College

Shark Bay School

Sheoak Grove Primary School

Somerly Primary School

South Coogee Primary School

Swan View Senior High School

Tambrey Primary School

Thornlie Senior High School

Tom Price Primary School

Wagin District High School

Warnbro Community High School

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails