Tyce Shepherd among award winners for Albany Boardriders at 30th edition of Surf Boardroom Surf League event

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Young star Tyce Shepherd.
Camera IconYoung star Tyce Shepherd. Credit: Justin Majeks/Surfing WA

Albany Boardriders have enjoyed a successful trip to Scarborough Beach to contest the Surf Boardroom Surf League event.

Held in tricky conditions the 30th edition of the popular event attracted some of WA’s best boardriding clubs.

Albany Boardriders were joined by clubs from Yallingup, Trigg Point, Margaret River, Scarborough, Surf Beach and City Beach in an exciting exhibition of grassroots club surfing.

In the unique Surf League format clubs nominated six surfers, four in open, one over-35 master and one under-18 junior, with each surfers top two wave scores added together for a combined team total.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Albany’s Zen Shepherd, Josh Couman, Jesso Kalotiti and Jack Kuret took part in the open division, Tyce Shepherd hit the waves in the juniors and Mike Smith tackled the over-35s.

Although they finished last of the seven clubs competing, Albany still came away with plenty of success.

Part of the Albany Boardriders team.
Camera IconPart of the Albany Boardriders team. Credit: Justin Majeks/Surfing WA

Young gun Tyce Shepherd was recognised as the best junior surfer, winning the Frank Hayter Freakish Talent Award.

He received a custom surfboard for his top performance.

The best wipeout of the event was Zen Shepherd, who received the Otis Eyewear Cover Your Eyes prize.

Albany Boardriders were deemed the club with the best camaraderie, winning the Creatures of Leisure Encouragement Award.

The best coach was Damion Kruet who picked up the Rip Curl Coaching Performance prize.

“What a cracker of day,” Damion Kruet said.

Albany's Tyce Shepherd won the Frank Hayter Freakish Talent Award.
Camera IconAlbany's Tyce Shepherd won the Frank Hayter Freakish Talent Award. Credit: Justin Majeks/Surfing WA

“Young Tyce Shepherd receiving the Frank Hayter award for best junior surfer.

“Add to that Albany Boardriders power surfer for the day Zen Shepherd taking out wipeout of the day, the club taking out the encouragement award for best camaraderie.

“Pretty good results considering we came at the wrong end of the equation. Huge thanks to the team today making the effort to come up to Perth to compete against the State’s premier board riders clubs.”

Yallingup and Trigg Point dominated the preliminary heats allowing them to progress directly through to the 2022 Surf League final.

Margaret River and Scarborough had to surf off against Surf Beach, City Beach and Albany in round two, before joining Yallingup and Trigg Point in the blue-ribbon final.

Yallingup’s team of Otis North, Duke Nagtzaam, Dylan Vernon, Felix Leaver, Paul Paterson and Josh Cattlin, went all out with a consistent performance, posting a combined total of 89.26 on their way to victory.

Trigg Point finished in a close second place on 87.95, Margaret River had to settle for third on 83.41, ahead of Scarborough in fourth on 77.77.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails