South Australian pair share memorial

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser

South Australian duo Ryan Alexander and Michael Miller have become the second tie in the history of the Bill Gibbings Memorial for super sedans after the drivers shared the prestigious honour award at Albany’s Easter meeting at the weekend.

The Bill Gibbings Memorial is awarded to the highest point-scoring super sedan driver across the two nights of racing and usually culminates in a 50-lap final.

However, with the SSA National Super Sedan Title taking preference, points from each of the qualifying heats and then the two finals were used to crown the 2016-17 champion.

Broome’s Warren Minshull was out to claim a third straight memorial and he was right in contention after a strong sixth placing in the A-main on Sunday night.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Alexander and Miller, though, proved too strong as the teammates dominated the four rounds of qualifying heats at the event and started the 40-lap title decider on the front row.

Both drivers failed to finish the A-main but they were that far in front of their rivals it didn’t matter.

At the conclusion of the qualifying heats, both Alexander and Miller had 136 points apiece and both received one point for starting the main event, leaving them locked together on 137 points.

They are now the second tie in the memorial, which has been running since 2001-02, joining Damon Trouchet and Kemble Aylett as dual winners.

Queenslander Matt Pascoe was back in third place on 127 points and Minshull finished fourth with 125.

New national champion Darren Kane picked up 36 points for his win in the national final, lifting him to fifth place in the memorial on 123 points.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails