Lake Grace-Pingrup star Tyson Prater named best and fairest player in Ongerup Football Association

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Lake Grace-Pingrup's Tyson Prater kicks in the preliminary final.
Camera IconLake Grace-Pingrup's Tyson Prater kicks in the preliminary final. Credit: Richard Poulish

Lake Grace-Pingrup star Tyson Prater has claimed the Ganzer Medal as the Ongerup Football Association’s best and fairest player in the league competition.

The vote count was done at Boxwood Hill on Saturday, with Prater polling well in the shortened five-round season to claim his first Ganzer Medal.

Prater returned from a broken leg that kept him sidelined for much of last year and finished with 12 votes from his four matches, in a 5-4-3-2-1 voting system done by the umpires.

The 32-year-old forward, who also plays in the midfield, was highly influential in the front half for the Bombers and won by two votes from Gnowangerup midfielder Fraser House.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Remarkably, House played only two games in the normal season and polled five votes in both games to finish on 10.

His Bulldogs teammate and classy ball user Scott Anderson polled nine votes and was joined on that total by Boxwood Hill’s Beau Vaux.

Lake Grace-Pingrup youngster Mitch O’Neill rounded out the top five with eight votes.

The competition’s leading goal kicker Timm House, who kicked 18 goals in four games of the home and away season, polled seven votes in his return to the OFA.

Jerramungup’s Ben Hislop, Newdegate’s Harvey Lynch and Boxwood’s Hayden Richter all finished with six votes and Nic Bertola was next on five.

O’Neill was named rookie of the year, Ian Norrish was umpire of the year, goal umpire of the year was Neil Foreman and Royce Taylor was recognised as volunteer of the year.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails