Eighth straight women’s division one league title for Denmark A in Great Southern Soccer Association

Taj StubberAlbany Advertiser
Denmark A won the women’s division one title.
Camera IconDenmark A won the women’s division one title.

Denmark A continued their remarkable dominance in the Great Southern Soccer Association women’s division one competition, winning yet another league title this season.

Their victory in the 2021 season was the eighth straight year Denmark have claimed the top women’s league title.

Heading into the final round on Friday, Denmark had the title secured and played a scratch match against Phoenix B after winning by forfeit.

Denmark suffered just one defeat in the competition to continue their golden run.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Phoenix A finished second on the table after they recorded a comfortable 5-1 win over Polonia to conclude the league season.

Lee Dekker, Tiana Korthuis, Ebonee Van Burgel, Bronte Dekker and Emily Bosch found the back of the net in the win while Libby Morris scored for Polonia.

Rovers B won by forfeit against Caledonians B in the other division one fixture.

Denmark B also claimed silverware, taking out the women’s division two league title after going undefeated once the top tier competition was split.

Esther Taylor netted a brace in the 3-0 win over Polonia B while Olivia McEwan also found the back of the net.

Mt Barker finished in second, 12 points adrift of Denmark, as they recorded a 3-0 win over Polonia B with Melanie Greeney scoring a brace and Tiffany Parsons also netting a goal.

Bayswater Social took out the women’s division three title with a 4-1 win over Rovers set up by a hat-trick from Emily Bowen.

Sonics defeated Polonia 2-1 while Denmark won by forfeit over Great Southern Grammar in the other fixture.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails