Denise Legge claims 2020 Mike Stidwell Medal after more than a decade of volunteer service for Pony Club

Taj StubberAlbany Advertiser
2020 Mike Stidwell Medal winner Denise Legge.
Camera Icon2020 Mike Stidwell Medal winner Denise Legge. Credit: Taj Stubber

Pony Club WA stalwart Denise Legge has taken out the Mike Stidwell Medal for 2020.

Legge, pictured, was announced as the winner at a ceremony at Centennial Stadium on Monday night, topping a field of 15 nominees from across the Great Southern.

The annual award honours the memory of former Department of Sport and Recreation regional manager Mike Stidwell.

It is presented during National Volunteer Week to a volunteer who has made an outstanding contribution to sport administration.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Legge is the 21st recipient, adding her name to a list that includes volunteers from Albany to Denmark across a range of sports.

“I’m thrilled because Pony Club is a minority sport and I certainly haven’t been in as long as some people have — but I did start falling off a pony at four,” she said.

The 64-year-old is the current president of the Pony Club WA’s Great Southern Zone and the treasurer of the Albany Pony Club.

She has served on the State coaching panel for the past decade, educating coaches across WA.

For the past four years, she has represented WA on the Pony Club Australia national coaching committee.

Sienna Hepworth, Denise Legge, Jill Stidwell and Siobhan Hepworth.
Camera IconSienna Hepworth, Denise Legge, Jill Stidwell and Siobhan Hepworth. Credit: Taj Stubber

“It is very rewarding coaching and educating young riders and coaches,” Legge said.

“Pony Club has been a wonderful opportunity to make good friends at a regional, State and national level.”

Albany MLA Rebecca Stephens said volunteers were the backbone of local sport.

“Without volunteers like Denise in the community, local sport and recreation clubs simply wouldn't be able to operate,” she said.

Sport and Recreation Minister Toni Buti said Legge was a worthy winner.

“I would like to congratulate Denise on this very well-deserved win and on her long-term commitment to volunteering for the Pony Club WA in the Great Southern region,” he said.

“Her dedication to the sport, and to mentoring and developing others within it, is commendable.”

Paula Wright (Frankland River Bowling Club), Jenny Rickerby (Lower Great Southern Tennis Association), Jarrod Hansen and Ryan Kinnear (Albany and Districts Cricket Association), Kelly Holzknecht (Katanning Netball Association), Libby Foster (Denmark Dragon Boat Club), Adam Powell (Royals Football and Sporting Club), Trish Hines (Albany Netball Association), Justin Bielecki (Albany Rovers Soccer Club), Marilyn Mullally and Baden Cummins-Green (Albany Caledonians Football Club), Carly Szczecinski (North Albany Football Club), Terry Eaton (Great Southern Football League and Albany and Districts Cricket Association) and Grace Knowlson (Albany Junior Soccer Association) were the other nominees.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails