Bill Gibbings Memorial a one-night show

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Gary Higgs won’t defend his Bill Gibbings Memorial crown.
Camera IconGary Higgs won’t defend his Bill Gibbings Memorial crown. Credit: SWB Photography

Albany Speedway Club will hold the annual Bill Gibbings Memorial for super sedans on Saturday night, in conjunction with the formula 125 feature.

The Easter long weekend is a pilgrimage for super sedan drivers to visit Attwell Park Speedway and contest the blue ribbon event.

Usually held across two nights, this season’s memorial will be a one-night show due to lower nominations as the National Super Sedan Title is being held at the same time in NSW.

A small field of seven drivers have entered for the Bill Gibbings Memorial, the field missing a number of regular competitors.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Gary Higgs and Chris Pavlovich are both over east competing while Warren Minshull, Dean Shore, Adrian Geary and Lee Aylett will also miss the 2018-19 race.

The Bill Gibbings Memorial is awarded to the highest point-scoring driver in the super sedan ranks at the meeting and has attracted a field including Kevin Bell, Adyme Harvey, Tristan Green and Steve Larson.

State champion Braiden Jewell headlines a field of 13 drivers in the formula 125 feature with Darren Cartwright, Nathen Tester, Jacinta Tester and Bill Beeck other fancied chances.

Limited sprintcars, SSS and junior sedans will be the support divisions, with racing starting at 4pm.

Gates open at 2pm and burnouts start at 3pm.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails