Captain Cane recalled to All Blacks squad

Captain Sam Cane is returning to the All Blacks squad after an absence though injury.
Camera IconCaptain Sam Cane is returning to the All Blacks squad after an absence though injury. Credit: AP

Captain Sam Cane has been recalled to the All Blacks squad for their northern hemisphere tour later this month, but locks Scott Barrett and Patrick Tuipulotu are returning to New Zealand for family reasons.

Cane, who missed the All Blacks' involvement in the just-completed Rugby Championship in Queensland due to injury, will join up with the squad in Washington for their meeting with the United States on October 23.

Sam Whitelock, Dane Coles and Shannon Frizell have also been added to the squad that won the southern hemisphere title alongside 20-year-old newcomer Josh Lord.

"From a physical point of view, we have come through The Rugby Championship really well," All Blacks coach Ian Foster said in a statement.

"Therefore, we've decided to add fewer players than first anticipated for the next part of our 12-week tour."

With the squad unable to return to New Zealand from Australia due to pandemic restrictions, the All Blacks will shift on Tuesday from the Gold Coast to a training camp on the Sunshine Coast before leaving for the United States on October 17.

After the game against the Eagles on October 23, the squad will travel to Europe to face Wales on October 30 before taking on Italy a week later.

That will be followed by a clash with Ireland on November 13, with the tour finishing in Paris and a meeting with France on November 20.

All Blacks squad

Forwards: Asafo Aumua, Dane Coles, Samisoni Taukei'aho, Codie Taylor, George Bower, Ethan de Groot, Nepo Laulala, Tyrel Lomax, Joe Moody, Angus Ta'avao, Karl Tu'inukuafe, Ofa Tuungafasi, Josh Lord, Brodie Retallick, Tupou Vaa'i, Sam Whitelock, Ethan Blackadder, Sam Cane, Shannon Frizell, Akira Ioane, Luke Jacobson, Dalton Papalii, Ardie Savea, Hoskins Sotutu.

Backs: Finlay Christie, TJ Perenara, Brad Weber, Beauden Barrett, Richie Mo'unga, Braydon Ennor, David Havili, Rieko Ioane, Anton Lienert-Brown, Quinn Tupaea, Jordie Barrett, George Bridge, Will Jordan, Damian McKenzie, Sevu Reece.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails