Nuich, Delbridge named to lead GFL at annual country series

Neale HarveyKalgoorlie Miner
Boulder’s Jake Nuich will co-captain the GFL at this weekend’s annual country championships in Perth.
Camera IconBoulder’s Jake Nuich will co-captain the GFL at this weekend’s annual country championships in Perth. Credit: Carwyn Monck/Kalgoorlie Miner

Mitchell medallists Jake Nuich and Jordan Delbridge have been named co-captains for the Goldfields Football League’s division one tilt in Perth at the annual Nutrien Ag Solutions country championships, starting on Friday.

Nuich was among 10 players from Boulder named to the team, but defender Toby Hawkins was formally withdrawn on Tuesday night because of work commitments.

Midfield star Alex Stuart is joined by teammates Josh Mathers, Jed Edwards, Daniel Leach and Makua Vlasich from an unbeaten Railways squad and is also joint vice-captain with Kalgoorlie’s Dylan Clarke.

Delbridge is among eight players from the second-placed Diorites making the trip, including his brother, Cale.

The siblings boast a combined three Mitchell medals.

Kambalda’s Ryan Fisher was an initial selection but was ruled out with a hamstring strain.

The GFL earned promotion to the top grade after capturing last year’s division two championship at the expense of Great Northern by 15 points.

A move up won’t be easy, but the GFL has extra incentive to perform well after failing to win a game at the 2022 carnival in division one and being relegated.

Goldfields open the series on Friday at 11am against Peel at Sullivan Logistics Stadium in Leederville.

Game two is against reigning champions Avon from 2pm at the same venue.

Fixtures switch to Fremantle Community Bank Oval on Saturday when the GFL plays South-West at 2pm and Upper Great Southern at 5pm.

Sunday’s final is at Leederville, starting at 1.30pm.

Aaron Sweet coaches the representative team for the first time after guiding Boulder to last year’s GFL flag.


From Boulder:

J. Nuich; B. Blair; A. Higgins; M. Cassidy; J. Swallow; C. Grover; J. Hooks; J. Ettia; D. Hamilton.

From Railways:

A. Stuart; J. Mathers; J. Edwards; D. Leach; M. Vlasich.

From Mines Rovers:

J. Delbridge; C. Delbridge; M. Braham; S. Burge; J. Strahan; J. Toa; N. Reghenzani; R. Gurr.

From Kalgoorlie:

D. Clarke; B. Norris; B. Fiorentino.

From Kambalda:

D. Parker.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails