EGHA fielding three teams at men’s country championships in Perth

Neale HarveyKalgoorlie Miner
Norths’ Jenson Holdaway during round 18 of the Eastern Goldfields Hockey Association A1 men’s league between Norths and Pegasus.
Camera IconNorths’ Jenson Holdaway during round 18 of the Eastern Goldfields Hockey Association A1 men’s league between Norths and Pegasus. Credit: Carwyn Monck/Kalgoorlie Miner/RegionalHUB

Jenson Holdaway and Angus Square got the nod as development players named to the Eastern Goldfields Hockey Association’s division one men’s team for the annual country championships in Perth, starting on Friday.

EGHA president Daniel Lavery said both youngsters would be rotated through the line-up that would provide them with valuable experience for future carnivals.

Notable absentees include Nick Lavery, who retired from top-level competition after the last championships, Zane Soper (work commitments) and Chris Connolly (injured).

Connolly, however, will still travel with the team and in other selections, Brenton Snell edged out Ashton Reed for the No.1 goalkeeper’s role.

“Reed has been on fire in the local competition,” Daniel Lavery said.

“But Snell has the runs on the board with his State Country representation as well.”

EGHA’s team includes Tim Bewick and Pearce Paynter on special permits.

“Bewick has represented the past two years, but has graduated (from) WASM and returned to Perth,” Daniel Lavery said.

“His permit was granted in Connolly’s absence and Paynter is a Northam product pushing for WA State Country Selection — noting Northam don’t have a division one team, so Hoare invited him into the EGHA squad under a permit.”

Goldfields will also be represented in division three and by a masters team in the same division.


Division 1:

Andrew Hoare (coach); Brenton Snell (GK); Johnathon Bates; Matthew Souchon; Chris Souchon; Callum Abraham; Clinton Hoare; Hayden Clarke; Lewis Bignell; Sam Everett; Slayde Coombs; Patrick Gorman; Peter Cottle; Brody Marsh; Tim Bewick (permit player); Pearce Paynter (permit player); Jenson Holdaway (development player); Angus Square (development player).

Division 3:

Andrew Hoare (coach); Ashton Reed (GK); Leium Bernhardt (C); Bayley Gallagher; Bailey Richardson; Sam Wood; Nash Hunt; Danny Priggins; Toby Bower; Eddie McKenzie; Kris Robbiliard; Callum Neighbour; Jenson Holdaway (development player); Angus Square (development player); Daniel Ace-Heaton (permit player); Callum Ellery (permit player); Casey Linto (permit player).


Wade Wood (player-coach); Kris Campbell (GK); Daniel Lavery; Aaron Doab; Bradley Daddow; CJ Rihari; Kelvin Williams; Shaun Marx; Dan Smith; Aaron Robinson; Dean Eisler; Brendan Riebling; John Farr; Ken Sharpe; (permit player); Glenn Hinge (permit player).

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails