Albany to host WSS again in club coup

CAMERON NEWBOLDAlbany Advertiser

After the success of hosting a round of World Series Sprintcars last season, Albany Speedway Club has been announced as a venue for the 2012-2013 series.

The news comes as a major boost for the club, which held a round for the first time in February this year, attracting more than 4000 people.

The decision by WSS management to bring the series back to Albany is not only a massive coup for the club, but also the city.

WSS significantly shortened its schedule this season, with just 12 rounds.

The Western Swing of the series will visit Manjimup, Albany, Bunbury and Perth over three weeks.

The news came as Albany Speedway Club announced its calendar for next season, which consists of eight meetings including two night events for the 2012-2013 WA Modified Sedan title and the annual Bill Gibbings Memorial for Super Sedans.

Albany’s calendar begins on November 17 with the annual Noel Pearson Memorial and a brand new 4-Cylinder Demolition Derby.

Rounds of the Production Sedan 10,000 series, the Super Sedan Summer series and the Late Model Pro Dirt series will also be held at Attwell Park.

WSS will be held on February 9, 2013, and will be supported by the popular GWN7 Modified Sedan series.

The final meeting of the season on April 20, 2013, will involve the regular Demolition Derby and the historic Southern 100 for Production Sedans.

Club president Kevin Theyer, who was re-appointed at last Tuesday’s annual general meeting, said the club had again assembled a quality calendar to provide the best possible racing for fans.

In a further boost, the Albany Speedway Club received a $2500 grant from Speedway Australia’s QBE Risk Management Track Grant Scheme this month.

The money will be used to upgrade grandstands around the venue and help facilitate the big crowds expected at the club’s major events.

Last Saturday, Modified driver Graeme McSweeney was named the 2011-2012 senior fairest and best driver.

Teenager Jordan McDonald won the junior fairest and best award, and Street Stock competitor Clint Udecz was awarded the club champion trophy for the highest points scored by a driver across all divisions.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails