WAFL contingent fly flag for Great Southern

Tim Edmunds and Gareth ThomasAlbany Advertiser

The Great Southern will once again be strongly represented at WA Football League level this season, with 13 new players added to Claremont’s colts and senior lists.

With the WAFL season starting this Saturday, the Tigers’ colts squad has been finalised, with nine new faces including seven Great Southern Football League players and two from Ongerup Football Association.

North Albany trio Addison Dew, Mitch Lenegan and Rhett Lloyd will be joined by Royals pair Declan McNamara and Broady Linthorne, while Railways’ Beau Ewen and Denmark-Walpole’s Josh Devitt-Boyd have also made the cut.

Lake Grace-Pingrup’s Jack Treveven and Borden’s Lewis Davis have also been included.

Dew, Lenegan and McNamara all debuted last season while playing in the GSFL.

Colts premiership players Bailey Bennett (Railways) and Dylan Smallwood (Albany) earn places on the club’s 68-man senior list, along with Dylan Holt (Railways) and Cameron Quenby (Mt Barker).

Denmark-Walpole product Jesse Laurie also returns, with the dual premiership player spending the past three years in Melbourne, while veteran Beau Maister (Railways) will play on alongside Matt Palfrey (Railways), Morgan Davies (Royals) and Ben Higgs (Railways), with the trio in search of more league appearances.

Former North Albany junior and Carlton defender Josh Bootsma has left Peel Thunder and joined Katanning Wanderers in the Upper Great Southern Football League.

Great Southern product and former Hawthorn defender Angus Litherland is expected to debut for Subiaco against South Fremantle featuring Bernie Naylor medallist Ben Saunders (Mt Barker) and former Royals junior Steven Edwards.

Former Albany colt Travis Abbott gains a place on the Bulldogs’ senior list.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails