WA speedway star Kye Blight claims Production 5000 title at Albany’s Attwell Park

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Kye Blight in action.
Camera IconKye Blight in action. Credit: Tease Hamon

The class of Kye Blight was on display at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway on Saturday night as he claimed victory in the lucrative Production 5000.

Blight, a national champion in the late model division, pocketed $5000 after winning the 25-lap production sedans feature race.

After winning all three qualifying heats and then the dash, Blight started the main event from pole position.

He led from start to finish despite strong challenges from Aydan Trewern and Kyle Sayer to claim his first Production 5000 title.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.

The Production 5000 podium in Albany.
Camera IconThe Production 5000 podium in Albany. Credit: Albany Speedway Club

Blight crossed the line 2.341 seconds ahead of Albany’s Trewern and Sayer was close behind in third while Beau Riley and Rickie Nuccini rounded out the top five.

During the night Blight had to overcome a broken transmission after winning his opening heat but replaced it to continue his love affair with the banked Albany venue.

Trewern won two preliminaries earlier in the night. Heat races also went the way of Sayer, Cody Blight, Nuccini and local competitor Shane Devonshire.

Albany driver Ron Belfield rode out a big crash in heat four and didn’t race for the rest of the event.

The meeting also doubled as round six of the Junior Sedan Racing Association Series with Brody Day and Baxter Trouchet taking out the two feature races.

The top stars podium with Brody Day, centre.
Camera IconThe top stars podium with Brody Day, centre. Credit: JSRA

Day produced a masterclass in the top stars division, winning the 20-lap final by 4.197sec. ahead of the second-placed Zach Munro. Brock Pearce was third across the line.

Trouchet prevailed in the 15-lap new stars final, beating home Deegan Mellor and Mitch Binning.

Also part of the program was the WA pro modified class, which competed for the Great Southern Cup.

Brad Ludlow deafeated Damien Burch, Ben Ludlow, Matt Bosveld and Glenn Fiorenza in the feature race.

In Kalgoorlie at the weekend, Albany’s Peter Herbert had a strong finish in the SSA WA Street Stock Title.

Albany's Peter Herbert leads Derby's Robert Dunbar and Ellenbrook's Clayton Blee in the WA Street Stock Title at the Kalgoorlie International Speedway.
Camera IconAlbany's Peter Herbert leads Derby's Robert Dunbar and Ellenbrook's Clayton Blee in the WA Street Stock Title at the Kalgoorlie International Speedway. Credit: Blake Jones Photography

A stellar field of 82 drivers battled it out for the title and Herbert qualified for the 40-lap championship decider in position 19, after progressing from the B-main 1 where he finished second.

The veteran competitor made it to ninth in a frenetic final, won by Carnarvon’s Damon Lyall ahead of defending champion Jamie Oldfield and Hayden Norman.

Albany driver Paul Bowman endured a frustrating weekend and retired from B-main 2 after 14 laps.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails