Twenty20 clashes carry extra importance this season

Taj StubberAlbany Advertiser
Railways are winning the 2017-18 Twenty20 grand final.
Camera IconRailways are winning the 2017-18 Twenty20 grand final.

Five clubs will play the first two rounds of the Twenty20 competition in the Albany and Districts Cricket Association this Saturday.

The T20 games will also double as part of the A-grade premiership season and will be the last fixtures played before the mid-season break for Christmas and New Year.

The winner of each T20 game will be awarded three points, half the amount for a regular one-day win, to go towards their season points total but no bonus points will be available.

There will be a separate ladder kept for the T20 competition with rounds three and four played on Saturday, January 9, before the final round the following day.

The top two teams in the T20 standings will play in the grand final starting at 2pm on January 10.

T20 matches will count towards player qualifications for the normal season, with each T20 game counting as half a game.

To qualify for one full game a player must feature in two T20 fixtures.

However the final will not count towards player qualification.

Collingwood Park won last year’s T20 competition.

That competition was separate to the A-grade.

Railways last won the A-grade T20 title when it was played in the 2017-18 season.

The ACDA B-grade and C-grade fixtures will remain as normal one-day fixtures this Saturday.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails