Twelve jostle for five spots on council

Tayler NealeAlbany Advertiser

With five positions available on the Shire of Denmark council, 12 candidates will jostle for election next month.

Three spots are up for grabs within the Scotsdale-Shadforth ward, with incumbents Peter Caron and Mark Allen seeking re-election, while Yasmin Bartlett has resigned mid-term.

Former councillors Belinda Rowland, John Sampson and Barbara Marshall are part of a group running for council that wants to “Get Denmark Back on Track”.

Also contesting Scotsdale-Shadforth is Kingsley Gibson, a former councillor in Capel who worked for the WA Planning Commission, and South Coast Surfing Lessons owner Mike Neunuebel.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


In the Kent-Nornalup ward Clem Wright will try to be re-elected and is directly opposed to Roger Seeney, a former councillor who is part of the Get Denmark Back on Track group.

Shire president David Morrell will look to be re-elected in the Town ward ,with Richard Dembowski and Ian Osborne opposing Mr Morrell.

Peter Caron:If elected, I look forward to putting the Strategic Community Plan into action, supporting businesses, providing stability to council, and respecting our town and environment.

Mark Allen: I see a community-driven council that has its eyes fixed on a sustainable future for our town.

Belinda Rowland:I will support positive environmental waste management priorities, improved roads, and sound budget management to provide sustainable, strategic investment policies.

John Sampson: I believe the attributes of Denmark can only be preserved with careful and sensitive management and with the backing of a community united and confident in its elected representatives.

Kingsley Gibson: I am standing for council because I want to help the Denmark community, economy and council move forward.

Mike Neunuebel: I’m passionate about life and that's why I love to live in Denmark. Give me a chance to give something back to this community.

Clem Wright: I am standing for re-election in order to continue to have the opportunity to influence policies and decisions which directly affect ratepayers and residents.

Roger Seeney: I am fully supportive of the entire new industrial area and bridge and see this, along with removing Denmark from the local government watch list, as priorities.

David Morrell: I am seeking a further term to see the completion of improved strategies for corporate governance and community engagement, including the integrated planning framework.

Richard Dembowski: Tourism opportunities, business diversity and lifestyle are very important to me and I want to improve these areas.

Ian Osborne:I was a Denmark Shire councillor in 2011-15 and am standing again because I am committed to Denmark and dedicated to its future, and Denmark needs a strong, diverse council.

Election voting packages will be sent to residents, with voting required to be completed by 6pm on October 21.

Meanwhile, the Shire of Plantagenet has announced the re-election of councillors Jeff Moir, Brett Bell, Jon Oldfield, Sue Etherington and Len Handasyde, while Bevan Lang was also elected.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails