Trophy Gala attracts keen competitors

Albany Advertiser
Champion junior rider Zara Bickford with runner-up Ella Belfield and Albany Stock Feeds Tracey Sands.
Camera IconChampion junior rider Zara Bickford with runner-up Ella Belfield and Albany Stock Feeds Tracey Sands. Credit: Laurie Benson

Albany Horsemen’s Association hosted the Trophy Gala and Horse of the Year competition at Albany Equestrian Centre last weekend.

The event was a qualifier for the Great Southern Horse of the Year and Great Southern Hunter of the Year, with the final to be held at the Albany Agricultural Show in November.

The AHA dressage competition was held on Saturday under the watchful eye of Equestrian Australia judge Kerry Wilson.

Official classes results –Judge Kerry Wilson

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Champion Rider: Sharon Jenkins. Reserve Champion: Tameka Ellard. Champion Junior Rider: Charlotte Edwards. Reserve: Taiah Curtis.

Champion Small Pony: Wendamar Flirt – Georgia Edwards. Reserve: Woranora Picture Show – Grace Maddams.

Champion Large Pony: Lintara Showboat – Georgia Edwards. Reserve Cedar Lakes Spellbound – Emma Panizza.

Champion Galloway: In the Middle – Leah Field. Reserve: Monument Park Jackpot – Karen Mayfield.

Champion Hack: Devotive – Georgia Edwards. Reserve: Miss Singapore – Emma Panizza.

Champion Small Hunter Pony: Apple Jack Jay – Kelsey Lubke. Reserve Aristocrat Nina Charlotte Edwards.

Champion Large Hunter Pony: Goody Gumdrop – Taiah Curtis. Reserve: Imperial Barbie – Crystal Sands.

Champion Large Hunter Hack: Diva Don Danzig – Emma Panizza. Reserve: Part Secrets – Sharon Jenkins.

Lead Rein: 1st Wendamar Flirt. 2nd Tikallara Hazzman. Lead Rein rider: 1st Bella Berger 2nd Aliyah Ruffo. First Ridden Pony: Wendamar Flirt. First Ridden Rider: Amelia McDonald.

Encourage Ring – Judge Carol Bergersen

First Ridden Pony: Brimfield Riley – Samantha Hutton 1st Tonka Cooper Lucas, 2nd and Equal 3rd Violet Park Baleka - Millie Stone and Wendamar Nella - Isabella Horsey.

First Ridden Rider: Isabella Horsey 1st Millie Stone 2nd and Equal 3rd Samantha Hutton and Cooper Lucas.

Champion Senior Rider: Heather Henderson. Reserve Champion: Ashley Dowsett. Champion Junior Rider: Zara Bickford. Reserve: Ella Belfield. Champion Small Pony Belle: Ella Belfield. Reserve: Tonka – Charlotte Edwards. Champion Large Pony: Chevals Sunrise – Kirsty Walmsley. Champion Galloway: Chevals Rustic Charm – Sharon Hills. Champion Hack: Vettori – Zeta Badger. Reserve: Summertime Janine Bush. Champion Large Hunter Pony: Zara Bickford – Trapalanda Downs India. Champion Small Hunter Hack: Clare Downs Enwedig Rhifyn – Amy Kennedy. Reserve: Hollywoods Lil Pinup – Ashley Dowsett. Champion Large Hunter Hack: The Witch Doctor – Heather Henderson. Reserve: Waterford Delta – Kim Bunney. Hi Point off the Track: Miss Singapore – Emma Panizza and Runner up Vettori – Zita Badger.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails