Tigers secure historic fourth straight title in grand final romp

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser

Railways secured a historic fourth straight Albany Cricket Association A-grade premiership in dominant style, thrashing rivals North County by eight wickets in today’s grand final at Hard North.

The Tigers were chasing less than 100 to win a fourth successive title after the Bulldogs were rolled for 79 inside 27 overs after winning the toss and batting first.

Fast bowler Nathan Crudeli finished with four wickets to be named man-of-the-match while all-rounder Jeremy Wood also snared four wickets for the Tigers.

When Nathan Crudeli claimed the prize wicket Craig Tonkin, out second ball of the match for a duck, the Bulldogs were relying heavily on their middle order.

Railways’ Matt Walters embraces captain Zane Marwick after hitting the winning runs in today’s grand final.
Camera IconRailways’ Matt Walters embraces captain Zane Marwick after hitting the winning runs in today’s grand final. Credit: Laurie Benson

However just three players reached double figures and it could have been worse had the Tigers not conceded 17 sundries.

Neil Ferreira made a fighting 17 at number three while son Matthew Ferreira (11) and Harry Broomhall (11) also found their way to double figures but failed to go on with it.

Nathan Crudeli returned 4-17 off eight overs and Wood chimed in with 4-20.

It was always going to be a comfortable chase for the Tigers as openers Brendan Crudeli and Jeremy Wood took 28 runs from the first five overs.

Wood was the first wicket to fall on 18 off the wily Tonkin but his departure signalled Brendan Crudeli to up the ante, as he blasted three sixes in an entertaining knock of 46.

Preliminary final hero Glen Battersby eventually removed Brendan Crudeli four short of a half century but there was little to celebrate as Matt Walters belted an unbeaten 16 runs to get the Tigers across the line.

Walters fittingly crunched a six down the ground to bring up the winning runs, finishing 2-85 with 36 overs to spare.

The Tigers are just the second club in ACA history to win four successive A-grade premierships.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails