Tiger bounds clear in football award

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Logan Stubber has been in top form for Railways this season.
Camera IconLogan Stubber has been in top form for Railways this season. Credit: Laurie Benson

Damaging Railways midfielder Logan Stubber’s brilliant start to the season has him a clear leader for the Albany Advertiser Footballer of the Year Award after seven rounds.

Stubber has been on fire for the Tigers in the early part of the season, helping them to a 6-1 record as the Great Southern Football League enjoys a general bye this weekend.

The hard-running midfielder polled in the first six rounds of the season and failed to poll in last Saturday’s win over Mt Barker, but sits four votes clear of his nearest rival.

Best-afield performances against the Bulls in round two, Albany in round four, Denmark-Walpole in round five and North Albany in round six have helped the former Claremont colt to a total of 16 votes.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Royals star Dave Parker is nipping at Stubber’s heels after his terrific form in the first seven games, polling in the last four rounds to sit on 12 votes.

The winner of the same award back in 2014 when he also claimed the Kleemann Medal, Parker polled three votes in last Friday night’s win over the Sharks to go with best on ground performances in rounds two and four.

Kangas ball winner Nathan Crudeli polled three votes consecutively over three weeks to be next on nine votes, the same total as Lions gun Corey Ward.

To highlight Stubber and Parker’s busy starts to the 2019 season, last year the award was won by Tigers’ Joel Want with 18 votes in total.

The footballer of the year award is voted on by Albany Advertiser reporters covering each league game and does not include finals.

The voting goes in-house for the final three home-and-away rounds.

2019 Albany Advertiser Footballer of the Year Award — Round 7

16: L Stubber (RAIL)

12: D Parker (ROY)

9: N Crudeli (NA)

C Ward (ROY)

7: T Stone (DW)

6: P Taylor (MB)

J Heil (ROY)

5: S Lehmann (MB)

C Frost (RAIL)

R Gaerth (DW)

4: A Pearce (NA)

M Green (RAIL)

D MacDonald (DW)

C Marwick (ALB)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails