Three State champs among big fields for Albany meeting

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
State champion Branden Fraser will race in Albany on Saturday.
Camera IconState champion Branden Fraser will race in Albany on Saturday. Credit: SWB Photography

A strong field of nearly 20 cars will contest the third round of the WA Modified Sedan Series at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway this Saturday night.

The meeting will also double as the running of the Noel Pearson Memorial, won by the highest point-scoring Albany Speedway Club driver in any division.

After rounds in Moora and Narrogin to start their 2020-21 series, there have been 17 nominations for the Albany visit including five locals.

Matt Kata, Calon Ball, Sean Theyer, Laurie Dowsett and Merv Penn make up the Albany contingent.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The Albany round of the series was cancelled last season but this Saturday’s event will feature State champion Branden Fraser. Fraser is already a round winner of this season’s series along with his brother Luke Fraser while Narrogin’s Paul Stevens has been on the podium at both events thus far.

Allan Mortimer, Anthony King, Adam Houston and Jayke Malcolm are also among the entrants.

The modified sedans will compete in two qualifying heats each before a top six shootout and then a 20-lap final.

Top formula 125 competitor Jacinta Tester will be looking defend her Noel Pearson Memorial crown on Saturday night.

She is among a field of 10 formula 125s, including State champion Sam Jewell.

Tester last season shared the memorial title with sprintcar competitor Jamie Langdon. Jewell has won the memorial on three occasions while Theyer, Ron Belfield and Aydan Trewern are other former winners nominated for the meeting.

WA street stock champion Jamie Oldfield will compete at the meeting in preparation for the State title at the Attwell Park venue later in the season.

Junior sedans, production sedans, formula 125s and street stocks are the support divisions at the meeting.

Gates open at 4pm and racing is from 6pm on Saturday.

WA Modified Sedan Series - Albany nominations

1 Branden Fraser

6 Paul Stevens

7 Matt Kata

8 Calon Ball

10 Ashley Baker

11 Sean Theyer

14 Laurie Dowsett

15 Luke Fraser

17 Merv Penn

18 Adam Houston

23 Jayke Malcolm

29 Sam McAuley

31 Kevin Ellement

47 Jarrod Rick

51 Anthony King

74 Allan Mortimer

133 Kim Smith

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails