Three overseas players named in Albany and Districts preliminary squad for senior country week tilt

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Coen Marwick is one of big names in the Albany and Districts first team.
Camera IconCoen Marwick is one of big names in the Albany and Districts first team. Credit: Cameron Newbold/Albany Advertiser

Albany and Districts Cricket Association has released the preliminary squads for the annual senior country week tournament that starts on January 15.

The ADCA will take three senior teams to the competition with their first XI in pool B of the A-section division opposed to Eastern Goldfields, Bunbury & Districts 2 and Geraldton.

The Whalers finished third at last year’s tournament, beating Geraldton in the third and fourth playoff after a loss to Peel ended their hopes of reaching the Boan Cup final.

A 13-man squad for next year’s campaign was released on Monday, featuring star all-rounders Coen Marwick and Lincoln Joy.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


That pair, along with experienced veteran Ryan Kinnear, have been named in the Whalers’ first team while South Australian Alex Garlick has also been picked.

Garlick has been a revelation since joining Collingwood Park this season, having previously played at first-grade level in the South Australian Cricket Association.

Collingwood Park recruit Alex Garlick.
Camera IconCollingwood Park recruit Alex Garlick. Credit: Laurie Benson

The Whalers will also play three overseas players in the top team, with competition rules allowing more than one international to be in the same side.

Scottish all-rounder Oliver Davidson headlines the three imports while Manypeaks seamer James Bottomley and Royals youngster Myles Holland have also been selected.

However, the Whalers will be without key duo Nathan Crudeli and Jeremy Wood who have been a big part of their side in the past few years.

That pair will be representing the region for the WA Country XI at the Australian Country Cricket Championships in Canberra from January 13-20.

Wood is the current ADCA Country Cup captain and skippered the Whalers in last year’s country week campaign.

A new captain of the first team is expected to be named in the coming weeks as the Whalers chase a 16th Boan Cup as country week champions.

Albany & Districts first XI squad

Coen Marwick (Railways)

Kieran Howie (Manypeaks)

Ryan Kinnear (Manypeaks)

Seb Stanton (Manypeaks)

Alex Garlick (Collingwood Park)

Ollie Davidson (Collingwood Park)

Lincoln Joy (Royals)

Myles Holland (Royals)

Ben Grey (Collingwood Park)

James Bottomley (Manypeaks)

Clayton Wood (Mt Barker)

Mohit Jaggi (Railways)

Regan Poett (Manypeaks)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails