The race for Henry looks a beauty

Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Email Cameron Newbold
Five players in strong contention for tonight’s Kleemann Medal.
Camera IconFive players in strong contention for tonight’s Kleemann Medal.

An exciting five-way race appears set to develop in tonight’s 61st edition of the Henry Kleemann Medal with both Sam Lehmann and Dave Parker in line to become multiple winners of the Great Southern Football League’s most prestigious award.

The HB Kleemann vote count will be held at Centennial Stadium tonight with 2011 winner Lehmann and 2014 recipient Parker right in the mix for what most experts think will be a close count.

The Advertiser canvassed all six GSFL league coaches for their predictions and they threw up four different winners, including early season favourite Logan Stubber along with Tyler Stone and Nathan Crudeli.

Three coaches believe Stubber, who led the other two major football awards for much of the season, can become the third successive Railways player to stand with the medal around his neck at the conclusion of tomorrow’s gala presentations.

Zane Marwick (2015 and 2017) and Joel Want (2018) have given the Tigers the medallist in three of the past four seasons.

Parker and Lehmann were the last Lions and Bulls to win the honour respectively while Stone would end a lengthy drought for Denmark-Walpole with Ashley Plater their last winner back in 2003.

Royals' Dave Parker is chasing a second Kleemann Medal.
Camera IconRoyals' Dave Parker is chasing a second Kleemann Medal. Credit: Laurie Benson

Stone and Lehmann figure prominently among the six coaches’ top three predictions while Dave Parker, who had a number of outstanding games during Royals’ superb regular season, was surprisingly left out by most with only Troy Leo thinking the consistent ball winner will play a part.

Stubber led the Advertiser Football of the Year Award by three votes from Parker after round 12 when the voting went in-house.

He was also narrowly ahead in the Coaches Player of the Year Award at the same stage with Tyler Stone, Craig Frost and Lehmann in close proximity.

Frost could be the danger to Stubber’s hopes, also having an consistent year for the Tigers while Parker will have to overcome challenges from his talented teammates, who will pinch votes given their side won 14 games.

Stubber’s ability to hit the scoreboard is likely to see him poll well early, the damaging midfielder booted 21 goals in 14 games during the regular season.

The H.B Kleemann Medal.
Camera IconThe H.B Kleemann Medal.

Stone has booted 19 goals this season and is set to earn votes in at least half the games despite his Magpies only winning three games for the season.

Albany’s Coen Marwick appears to be his club’s best chance, with many believing he can create history with the amount of votes a Sharks player has ever received.

The Kleemann Medal is the highlight of tonight’s awards at Centennial Stadium with the Charlie Punch Medal for the best reserves player also announced alongside the Albany Advertiser Footballer of the Year Award and the Coaches Player of the Year Award among another gongs.

GSFL coaches predictions

Andrew Ruck, Royals 1 Sam Lehmann; 2 Logan Stubber; 3 Tyler Stone. Roughie: Jacob Hobbs

Troy Leo, Railways 1 Logan Stubber; 2 Dave Parker; 3 Corey Ward. Roughie: Coen Marwick

Brad Hook, Mt Barker 1 Logan Stubber; 2 Tyler Stone; 3 Sam Lehmann. Roughie: Coen Marwick

Craig Dew, North Albany 1 Nathan Crudeli; 2 Logan Stubber; 3 Sam Lehmann; Roughie: Coen Marwick.

Ryan Gaerth & Simon Barker, Denmark-Walpole 1 Tyler Stone; 2 Sam Lehmann; 3 Kane Shephard. Roughie: Coen Marwick

Kim Mayfield, Albany 1 Logan Stubber; 2 Tyler Stone; 3 Craig Frost; Roughie: Sam Lehmann

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails