Terrific field headlined by reigning champion Brock Atkins to contest national modified title in Albany

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Brock Atkins’ Australia #1 car. INSETS: Albany's Jason Batchelor and Mark Carlin winning the last national title in Albany.
Camera IconBrock Atkins’ Australia #1 car. INSETS: Albany's Jason Batchelor and Mark Carlin winning the last national title in Albany. Credit: Albany Advertiser

A wonderful field has been released for the National Modified Sedan Title that will be contested at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway next weekend.

Speedway Sedans Australia revealed the nominations on Monday with 47 drivers to take part in the 47th running of the event on April 7-9.

Albany Speedway Club will create history next week when it hosts the National Modified Sedan Title for a record sixth time.

National champion Brock Atkins from Hamilton in Victoria will make the trip across to WA to defend his crown.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Atkins is part of a strong Eastern States contingent with 11 drivers from Victoria, eight from Queensland and one from South Australia that will converge on the Albany venue.

Five Albany drivers will be part of the 27 competitors from WA that will be out to stop the title returning to the east coast.

There are multiple former winners of the title in the field with three-time victor Mark Carlin (2009, 2014 and 2015) joined by Aidan Raymont (2013) , Gary Pagel (1999) and Kye Walters (2019).

Carlin will return to the track he has enjoyed great success at, winning both in 2014 and 2009 on the Albany clay.

Reigning WA champion and Albany star Jason Batchelor is alongside a number of State titleholders that will chase national glory.

Walters is the Victoria champion while Nathan Macdonald (Queensland) and Jarod Waters (South Australia) have also entered along with 2023 Kings Royal champion Shane Macdonald and T-Bar Nationals winner Joel Berkley.

Nathan Macdonald has been runner-up twice at previous national titles while former placegetters Brendan Selleck and Lindsay McAuley will also be in the field.

Calon Ball, Aydan Trewern, Laurie Dowsett, Merv Penn and Batchelor will represent the home club in the title.

Practice will be held on Friday next week before racing on Saturday and Sunday nights.

The WA Modified Sedan Title will be held in Esperance on Saturday night, where Batchelor will put his title on the line.


A1 Brock Atkins

W0 Peter Fraser

V2 Mark Carlin

W2 Branden Fraser

W3 Brendan Selleck

W4 Lee Watt

W6 Paul Stevens

W8 Calon Ball

Q9 Gary Pagel

QA9 Joel Berkley

W12 Aydan Trewern

W14 Laurie Dowsett

WA14 Wade Rigney

Q15 Richard Cook

W15 Luke Fraser

Luke Fraser and Anthony King in action.
Camera IconLuke Fraser and Anthony King in action. Credit: Team Carnage Media/RegionalHUB

W16 Peter Katona

W17 Merv Penn

V17 Brad Wicks

VA17 Dylan Barrow

V18 Brooke Ferguson

W18 Adam Houston

W21 Matt Noakes

W23 Jayke Malcolm

Q24 David Head

Q27 Shane Macdonald

Q28 Aidan Raymont

W29 Lindsay McAuley

W31 Kevin Ellement

Q32 Nathan Macdonald

V32 Brody Chrystie

V33 Daniel Simpson

W36 Sam McAuley

V46 Kye Walters

W46 Jason Batchelor

W48 Brenden Higgs

W51 Anthony King

V56 Graham West

V61 Matt Nelson

W73 Ray Clifton

W74 Allan Mortimer

W84 Jamie Higgs

WA84 Brent Crookes

W88 Shane Brittain

V92 Jarod Waters

S94 Robert Uren

Q148 Brett Barron

W333 Shane Dubberlin

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails