Stubber takes reins of GSFL senior side

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser

The Great Southern Football League has appointed a new senior coach with Wayne Stubber replacing James McRae ahead of the league’s tilt at the Landmark Country Football Championships next month.

McRae was at the helm of the GSFL senior team for the past three seasons, winning a division 3 title in his first year and reaching the division 2 grand final in 2015.

The GSFL missed out on last year’s division 2 grand final and McRae has since stepped down, prompting the appointment of 2013 Railways premiership coach Stubber.

An initial 47-man was named by the GSFL this week ahead of the opening championship game, which consists of a regional fixture against arch rivals Ongerup Football Association on Saturday, June 17.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


A host of travelling players from mainly Mt Barker and Denmark-Walpole have been named while three members of the large squad come from Albany.

The Bulls and Tigers each have 10 members in the squad and ladder leaders Royals are represented with nine, the same amount as reigning premiers North Albany.

Stubber said he would make changes to the squad in the build-up to the clash with the OFA depending on form and injuries. The first training session for the senior side will be at Tigerland on Monday, May 29 at 6pm.

GSFL senior preliminary squad

Stewart Davies, Shaquille Narrier, Rick Wallis (Albany), Ryan Gaerth, Jack Hickey, Hendrix Ropiha, Shayne Zanetti, Kaden King-Davies, Tyler Stone (Denmark-Walpole), Nic Chidgzey, Daniel Dalby, Corey Byrne, John Lee, Kym Monteath, Jake Byrne, Matt Smith, David Stone, Daniel Parker, Brendan Wynne (Mt Barker), Brock Ramsay, Matt Orzel, Luke Cameron, Jesse Wynne, Jacob Hobbs, Alec Haskins, Graham Ross, Jack McPhee, Regan Lloyd (North Albany), Zane Marwick, Jarrod Whittle, Logan Stubber, Bodhi Stubber, Joel Want, Zak Hortin, Matt Van Schayk, Coen Marwick, Haydn Sproxton, Tayler Neale (Railways), Ryan Kinnear, Rhys Jones, Ben Gray, Dave Parker, Henry Hodge, Taylor Powell, Sam Baddeley-Holmes, Rory Callaghan, Michael McGlade (Royals)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails