Storm colts squad named for carnival

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Bryce Blaszkow in action for Great Southern Storm last year.
Camera IconBryce Blaszkow in action for Great Southern Storm last year. Credit: Cameron Newbold

Great Southern Storm head coach Glynn Verbruggen has named his initial colts squad of 40 players as preparations begin for next month’s Great Southern Colts Carnival in Lake Grace.

Verbruggen will be in charge of the Storm colts side, which represents the Great Southern Football League at the long-running carnival held on June 15 and 16, for the second straight year.

A strong squad full of league experience has been selected to take part in the carnival

The carnival will feature teams from Eastern Districts, Lower South West, Esperance, Ongerup, Goldfields, Peel and Upper Great Southern.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Last year the Storm fell short of an eighth straight grand final appearance, beating Goldfields to finish in third place.

Exciting tall Hamish McMorran, who has returned home after 17 colts games and two reserves matches at WAFL level for Claremont, is still eligible to play for the Storm, giving the side a big boost.

Fraser Eaton and Taj Williams, who spent time with Claremont colts in the pre-season, are also among the extended squad.

There is a wealth of selected names currently playing league for their respective clubs.

Verbruggen and his coaching staff will trim the squad in the coming weeks ahead of their trip to Lake Grace.

The first training session for the squad will be held at Mt Barker’s Sounness Park next Monday, starting at 6pm.

Great Southern Storm colts squad

Dylan Gowdie, Bryce Blaszkow, Callum Redshaw, Fraser Eaton, Taj Williams, Brock Anning, Kieran Gowdie, Jermaine Bropho (Albany)

Cody Kerr, Gryphon Roy, Kalin Lane, Jarrod Brack, Ben Olden (Denmark-Walpole)

Nitan Benavides, Mitch Ballard, Brent Parsons, Darcy Wallinger, Evan Smith, Rhys Hogg (Mt Barker)

Alex Pearce, Jonah Muir, Talon Delacey, Heath Spinks (North Albany)

Jamon Barrett, Liam Park, Henry Alforque, Henrick Alforque, Joe Alvin, Sam Want, Cyrus Upson, Coen Jackman, Kyle Smith, Ryan Davies (Railways)

Hamish McMorran, Shane Buss, Poch Amores, Dane Paunich, Tyreice Brown, Brody Ogle, Ben Watson (Royals)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails