Storm chase results with strong Landmark squad

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Taj Williams will be a key for the Great Southern Storm in their colts campaign.
Camera IconTaj Williams will be a key for the Great Southern Storm in their colts campaign. Credit: Cameron Newbold

The Great Southern Storm colts side have made several changes as their side chases multiple victories at the Landmark Country Football Championships, starting today.

Key trio Talon Delacey (broken thumb), Brock Anning (work commitments) and Cyrus Upson (unavailable) are notable omissions from the Storm side that played in the recent Great Southern Colts Carnival.

Anning was named in the Great Southern Twenty after a terrific carnival, while Delacey and Upson were also strong contributors.

Impressive defender Shane Buss is one of the key inclusions, along with classy ball user Tyreice Brown, while Callum Redshaw, Aidin Williss and Brody Ogle have also been selected.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The Storm will continue their relationship with zoned WAFL club Claremont and have included five players from the Kimberley in the squad of 30.

Storm head coach Glynn Verbruggen said with the talent they had available his side would be pushing to better their winless campaign last year.

“We are excited about the talent we’ve been able to bring in — they are all good additions,” Verbruggen said.

“The Kimberley kids are a little bit of the unknown but it’s a great chance for them to be part of our program.

“We’ve got a great amount of talent this year and we are looking to go up and win games of footy.”

Prime midfielder Alex Pearce will captain the Storm team, with rugged defender Joe Alvin and ball winner Taj Williams both deputies.

The colts division of the championships will be played at David Grays Arena in Mandurah, with the Storm kicking off their campaign against Regional Districts today at 12.40pm.

They face South West later today and then meet Peel and Northern Suns tomorrow, and the top four teams will reach Saturday’s grand final and third and fourth play-off.

Great Southern Storm squad

1. Joe Alvin (Railways), 2. Alex Pearce (North Albany), 3. Cody Kerr (Denmark-Walpole), 5. Taj Williams (Albany), 6. Nitan Benavides (Mt Barker), 7. Ryan Davies (Railways), 8. Mitchell Ballard (Mt Barker), 9. Brent Parsons (Mt Barker), 11. Jarrod Brack (Denmark-Walpole), 12. Shane Buss (Royals), 13. Ben Watson (Royals), 14. Coen Jackman (Railways) 15. Dylan Gowdie (Albany), 16. Callum Redshaw (Albany), 17. Tyreice Brown (Royals), 18. Jai Farquharson-Long (Kundat Djaru), 19. Aidin Williss (Mt Barker), 20. Sean Williams (Towns), 21. Jerek Padoon (Halls Creek), 22. Henrick Alforque (Railways), 23. Sam Want (Railways), 24. Poch Amores (Royals), 25. Henry Alforque (Railways), 26. Gryphon Roy (Denmark-Walpole), 27. Brody Ogle (Royals) 28. Kieran Gowdie (Albany), 29. Hamish McMorran (Royals), 30. Kalin Lane (Denmark-Walpole), 33. Trooper Bedford (Muludja), 34. Zephaneth Surprise (Bayulu)


Thursday & Friday @ David Grays Arena

Storm v Regional Districts — Thursday 12.40pm

Storm v South West — Thursday 2.20pm

Storm v Peel — Friday 11.20am

Storm v Northern Suns — Friday 1pm

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails