State champion Gary Higgs claims his seventh title in Mt Barker Super Sedan Classic

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
The podium from the Mt Barker Super Sedan Classic.
Camera IconThe podium from the Mt Barker Super Sedan Classic. Credit: Speedway Sedans WA

State champion Gary Higgs made it seven wins in the Mt Barker Super Sedan Classic as he led all the way in the final at Les Gorman Park on Saturday afternoon.

Higgs won all three of his qualifying heats and then led from start to finish in the 20-lap feature race at the Mt Barker venue.

The event, which also doubled as round five of the Super Sedan Summer Series, had 12 cars start in the final, and Higgs crossed the line 1.446sec. ahead of Kevin Bell, while Kyle Larson was a close third.

Adyme Harvey and Nathan Thiele rounded out the top five, while Tony St Jack (14 laps) and Kemble Aylett (10) failed to finish the final.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


After spinning out on lap two, Harvey and Larson had a great battle later in the race for third position, but Higgs was driving smoothly as he negotiated his way through lap traffic at the halfway stage.

The Betty Belfield Masson Perpetual Trophy was awarded to Thiele as the highest-placed local super sedan driver in the Classic.

The hard charged award went to Steve Larson, who started from position 11 on the grid and crossed the line in sixth, while the encouragement award went to Bryce Fisher in just his second meeting in the division.

Earlier in the day St Jack, Bell and Harvey won the other three heat races.

In the support divisions, Brock Pearce claimed victory in the junior sedans, Peter Herbert was too good in the street stocks, and Shane Devonshire won a close battle in the production sedans.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails