Sonix, Tigers ready to challenge in new season

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Sonix’s Tracy Myers and Railways’ Kirsty Smith in their team colours, the new sides facing off in the opening round of the season on Saturday.
Camera IconSonix’s Tracy Myers and Railways’ Kirsty Smith in their team colours, the new sides facing off in the opening round of the season on Saturday. Credit: Laurie Benson Albany Advertiser

The Albany Netball Association A1 competition is set for a shake-up, with grand finalists Magpies and Royals Saints each losing one star from last season, while the addition of Sonix and Railways adds further intrigue.

The new netball season officially starts tomorrow, and the first A1 fixtures will be played on Saturday, pitting new teams Sonix and Railways against each other in a fascinating match-up.

Saturday’s grand final rematch between Magpies 1 and Royals Saints 1 also promises plenty.

Magpies will be without star centre Kelly Judd for the 2019 campaign, the veteran suffering a season-ending knee injury in basketball recently. After losing last season’s grand final, Royals Saints will be without a key pillar of their success given astute defender Lisa Amess won’t play this season either.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Amess won the Michelle Parsons Memorial Award as the fairest and best player in the A1 competition last year.

Judd, also a former winner of the Michelle Parsons honour, will be tough to replace for Magpies, who will have co-coaches this season.

Rosemary Wolter will be joined on the sidelines by Lindsey King, and Magpies will gain the returning Rebecca Goodliffe along with other new faces Natalie Hutchinson, Grace Hardimen and Kylie Spencer.

Carly Szczecinski is again the player-coach at Royals Saints as they look to go one better this season, with young pair Madison Dallimore and Imogen Sivwright additions for departing duo Amess and Ebony Powell.

Only Abbey Cristinelli, Jade Dimer and Evie Dupuy remain from last season’s Grammar 1 team that made the finals.

Rachel Willcocks, Kirsty Smith and Tahlie Larosa are omissions for Kangas 1, while Narrikup 1 have added Marianne Tutt, Tamara Ditchburn, Heidi Sandison, Ella Scamozzi and Darcy Kerr.

Kangas 2 will have a very young side this season, coached by Kate Minter.

New club Railways will have a strong side in their maiden season, with Shelby Upson, Smith and Hollee Siviour all defecting from Kangas to complement the likes of Kiera Stephen, Kirsten Gault and Cassandra Cheetham.

Sonix return to the A1 fold with mainstays Jodie Wignall, Minter, Jodi Bradley and Tracy Myers among their squad.

There will be 10 Friday night fixtures in A1 this season and also a regular late timeslot on Saturdays.

In the opening round, Narrikup 1 will face Kangas 2 at 2pm, while in the two 3.30pm games, Magpies 1 and Royals Saints 1 face off and Kangas 1 play Grammar 1.

In the 5pm fixture, new teams Sonix and Railways will do battle.

ANA A1 Teams

Magpies 1

Last year: Premiers

Coaches: Rosemary Wolter & Lindsey King

Team: Caitlyn Wheatley, Brittany Needs, Natalie Hutchinson, Grace Hardimen, Rebecca Goodliffe, Claire Warburton, Macy Lane, Ashleigh Crock, Kylie Spencer

Royals Saints 1

Last year: Runners-up

Coach: Carly Szczecinski

Team: Amber Congram, Sophie Lynch, Madison Dallimore, Imogen Sivwright, Narelle Colbung, Kayla Thomas, Nardia Colbung, Taylah Orzel, Carly Szczecinski

Grammar 1

Last year: Third

Coach: Jenny Cristinelli

Team: Abbey Cristinelli, Jade Dimer, Sheridan Kowald, Evie Dupuy, Ellen Smith, Molly Dickson, Casey Griffiths, Jessica Leamon, Tahliah Dimer

Kangas 1

Last year: Fourth

Coach: Trish Hines

Team: Rani Rawlinson, Sascha Roberts, Alyssa Ward, Maddy Hines, Alyssa Perry, Jodi Ferry, Tara Mitchell, Marcia Trevenen, Rebecca Ravenhill, Nicole Newton

Narrikup 1

Last year: Fifth

Coach: Lisa O’Farrell

Team: Kristie Slater, Casey Greay, Emily Porter, Bree Dale, Marianne Tutt, Tamara Ditchburn, Heidi Sandison, Ella Scamozzi, Darcy Kerr

Kangas 2

Last year: Sixth

Coach: Kate Minter

Team: Celeste Del Borrello, Sharni Day, Lily Minter, Amy Alaouze, Hayley Hulm, Laura McKenney, Jaz Breuker, Indianna Weeden, Marisa Van Der Mescht


Last year: Returning to A1

Coach: Jodi Bradley

Team: Jodi Bradley, Tracy Myers, Kate Minter, Holly Minter, Jennelle Marwick, Kasey Warren, Jodie Wignall, Amanda Solomon, Indigo Bew, Hannah McKay


Last year: New to association

Coach: Connie Green

Team: Hollee Siviour, Kiera Stephen, Shelby Upson, Kirsten Gault, Kirsty Smith, Cass Cheetham, Courtney Henderson, Jorja Bevan, Maeve O’Brien

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails