Smallwood finishes top five in Claremont’s league fairest and best, Gowdie wins best first year player honour

Calvin SimsAlbany Advertiser
Kieran Gowdie.
Camera IconKieran Gowdie. Credit: Michael Farnell/Michael Farnell

Imposing Great Southern ruckman Kieran Gowdie was awarded Claremont’s Phil Crabb Trophy last month for his outstanding debut season in the Tigers league team.

Gowdie took out the trophy, awarded to the best first-year player, after playing 12 league games for the Tigers.

The 20-year-old key position player made his league debut in round two of the WAFL season in a 15-point win against Subiaco.

Gowdie also played six reserves games, three of which were finals, including the Tigers’ 39-point defeat to the Lions in the preliminary final.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


One of Gowdie’s most impressive league games came in the Tigers’ 34-point loss to South Fremantle in round 12 when the Albany product had 20 disposals, 45 hit-outs, three inside-50s and five tackles.

Claremont's Tyron Smallwood takes possession.
Camera IconClaremont's Tyron Smallwood takes possession. Credit: Jack Foley/RegionalHUB

North Albany junior and Tigers captain Declan Mountford earned the Sacrificial Tiger award for the 2022 season, presented to the most courageous player at the club.

Mountford (83 votes) also finished in sixth place in the E.B. Cook Medal.

Mountford’s season included an AFL call-up to the COVID-stricken West Coast Eagles as a top-up player in their round two loss to North Melbourne.

In the Tigers league fairest and best count, former Royals and Albany midfielder Tyron Smallwood was rewarded for his his superb season.

Claremont's Declan Mountford tries to shrug a tackle.
Camera IconClaremont's Declan Mountford tries to shrug a tackle. Credit: Michael O'Brien/RegionalHUB

Smallwood finished fifth in the vote count with 88 votes after averaging 11.8 disposals and 2.8 tackles per game while kicking 26 goals as a small forward.

Former Collingwood rookie and Sandover medallist Jye Bolton won the E.B. Cook Medal with the top three rounded out by Bailey Rogers and Ben Edwards (175). Sam Alvarez won the reserves best and fairest with Max Minear finishing second and Oliver Sheldrick and Ben Elliot equal third.

Sorrento-Duncraig junior Mitchell Baron was awarded the colts best and fairest award with Josh Sukoroski and Max Munne finishing second and third respectively.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails