North Albany win fifth straight flag

Staff reportersAlbany Advertiser
North Albany's Jacob Hobbs breaks clear.
Camera IconNorth Albany's Jacob Hobbs breaks clear. Credit: Laurie Benson Albany Advertiser


North Albany have claimed their fifth straight Great Southern Football League premiership after overpowering Railways after half time to win the 2018 decider by 17 points in front of a packed house at Tigerland this afternoon.

The Kangas trailed at quarter time and narrowly at half time but a decisive three goal to one third term handed the visitors a nine-point lead heading into the final term with the Tigers kicking towards the end favoured by the wind.

Early in the last quarter the Tigers trimmed the margin to three points after Kenton Gibbs was awarded a free kick and he jailed his second from on the 50m arc.

North Albany co-captain’s Graham Ross and Luke Cameron with premiership coach Craig Dew (centre) and league sponsor Paul Williams.
Camera IconNorth Albany co-captain’s Graham Ross and Luke Cameron with premiership coach Craig Dew (centre) and league sponsor Paul Williams. Credit: Laurie Benson

Misses from Scott Fielding and Tom Wolfe left just a single point in the game but the Kangas again lifted, desperate to create a piece of history, as they scored four behinds first before Alec Haskins extended his sides advantage to 11 points.

Moments later the Kangas went forward again and after a deep contest, Jacob Hobbs pounced on the spilled ball and sealed a fifth consecutive flag for both he and his team.

The Kangas were far too strong in the second half as they finished winners, 9.7 (61) to 6.8 (44) in jubilant scenes.

Midfielder Michael Trevenen continued his brilliant season in red and white, duly named the Alan Barnett medallist for his best-afield display in the decider that included two vital goals.

North Albany’s Graham Ross is pressured by Railways’ Mitch Green
Camera IconNorth Albany’s Graham Ross is pressured by Railways’ Mitch Green

Defender Regan Lloyd was terrific along with youngster Alex Pearce and grunt ball winner Ray Padfield while Marcus Trevenen again quelled Kenton Gibbs.

For the Tigers, Gibbs was their only multiple goal kicker but lacked his usual impact with their side well served by Dylan Schorer, player-coach Craig Frost, Scott Fielding and Mitch Green.

The result creates history for the Kangas, who have now won five straight league premierships for the first time.


Railways have claimed an upset win in the GSFL Reserves grand final by 4.2 (26) to 1.10 (16) over Royals, managing to keep the minor premiers to just one goal the whole game.

The home team, in front of a vocal crowd, booted three goals in the second term with the wind to setup a handy 14-point lead at half time and the victory as they shocked the inaccurate Lions.

Doug Roberts slotted the only goal in the third term to push the margin to 17-points at the last change and kicking with a slight breeze in the last quarter as they managed to register just one point in the final term but hold on against the Lions.

Railways' Mick Martin celebrates their win.
Camera IconRailways' Mick Martin celebrates their win. Credit: Albany Advertiser, Laurie Benson

Ruckman Graham Brenton won the Jim Hull Medal in a brilliant display in the centre and taking a number of big grabs around the ground.

The Tigers performance was an all-round team effort but Jack Steel played an outstanding game after being dropped from the league team, while Cohen Scott Matt Warburton and Hayden Smart were all very good in the win.

For Royals Chandler Askevold-Mcdonald was their best player also kicking their only goal along with Coel Hunter and Jaxon Nottle who were also solid in the loss.


Albany have won their first ever colts premiership after prevailing by four points in a pulsating final term over Royals in today’s grand final.

A three goal opening term from the Sharks helped them to a 20-point lead at the first break but the Lions slowly worked their way back into the game.

Albany's Tristan Loo gets his handball out as Royals' Cooper Hendrickson and Ben Watson move in.
Camera IconAlbany's Tristan Loo gets his handball out as Royals' Cooper Hendrickson and Ben Watson move in. Credit: Laurie Benson Albany Advertiser

Goals to Connor Bristow, Rivah Bocian and Harry Crane in the third term helped swing the momentum of the match and the Lions went in level with their Sharks at three quarter time.

The Sharks kicked three points in the last before the Lions against the flow of play took the ball up the other end and Bocian put his side in front with a second goal from close range.

However the Sharks were not done with as Zainel Bin Busu won a centre clearance and hit up Jake Abbott, who in turn found Henry Alforque all alone at half forward.

Henry Alforque went back and slotted the set shot to put the Sharks back in front and from there they hung on, 6.11 (47) to 6.7 (43).

Albany’s Fraser Eaton in action on Sunday.
Camera IconAlbany’s Fraser Eaton in action on Sunday.

Speedy midfielder Henrick Alforque was superb for the winners and won the Panizza Brothers Medal as the best player on the ground while co-captain Abbott was also outstanding.

Kieran Gowdie’s presence grew as the game went on while Bin Busu was lively early and Heath Hastie was solid in defence.

Shane Buss was the Lions best contributor, winning plenty of the ball across half back, while Nic Finlay worked tirelessly at stoppages, Bocian finished with 2.3 and Crane were also impressive.


Royals have clinched the Great Southern Football League sixteens premiership in dramatic circumstances, goalling after the siren to defeat Albany by two points at Tigerland this morning.

The Lions appeared to have lost the match after the Sharks pinched the lead after consecutive goals to Milo Babbington and Levi James-Wallace gave them a four point lead in the final minute.

However co-captain Seb Stanton marked strongly from a down field free kick and calmly slotted the goal from a 45 degree angle to spark wild celebration scenes, winning 6.14 (50) to 8.0 (48).

The lead changed hands four times in a thrilling final term which the Lions controlled through best on ground Dane Paunich (four goals) and Tyreice Brown until the Sharks late surge.

Inaccuracy threatened to plague the Lions premiership hopes as the efficient Sharks booted eight straight for the match with livewire Damien Woods booting three goals.

Albany's Joshua Crook gets his handball out as Royals' Josh Pateman tackles.
Camera IconAlbany's Joshua Crook gets his handball out as Royals' Josh Pateman tackles. Credit: Laurie Benson Albany Advertiser

Woods along with Flynn Turton, Levi James-Wallace and Hudson O’Dea led the way for the gallant Sharks.

Paunich, Brown, Carson Flowers and Cooper Childs were the Lions best as they claimed back-to-back premierships.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails