Recognition for a dedicated volunteer

Tayler NealeAlbany Advertiser

Katanning volunteer Tania Wolfe was honoured for two decades of involvement in the local sporting community when she was awarded the 2016 Mike Stidwell Medal last Wednesday night.

Wolfe, who has a hand in 11 clubs and associations in the Katanning region, took the coveted award, which recognises outstanding contribution to sports administration at an association level, honouring the late Department of Sport and Recreation regional manager Mike Stidwell.

After recently being awarded life membership of the Katanning Junior Basketball Association, Wolfe said she was shocked to be awarded the medal. “I really wasn’t expecting to win at all,” she said.

Wolfe has volunteered her time as a committee member, secretary and treasurer, among other roles, across the local junior and senior sporting scene.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Involved in netball, gymnastics, football, swimming, basketball and badminton, Wolfe said being a part of the community kept her motivated as a volunteer.

“I love being a part of it all — I really enjoy watching the kids play sport and just meeting all the different people associated with the local sporting community,” she said.

“Being a part of sporting club and the community is really important to me — sport keeps the community going.” Wolfe has also been praised for her desire to encourage Aboriginal participation in local sports.

“I’ve always tried to get the Noongar community involved in sport, in particular the basketball, and just getting the kids and their parents to be a part of it,” Wolfe said.

The Katanning volunteer listed her life membership and watching the children develop on the sporting field as highlights of her time involved with sport.

“I love seeing them grow and improve on the sporting field and as people,” she said.

Wolfe edged out a competitive field for the award, which included Andrew Marshall, Norman Hill, Peter Madigan, John Palfrey, Lindsey Stirling and Anne MacKay.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails