Quality field to contest Memorial

Taj StubberAlbany Advertiser
2018 Ronnie J Memorial winner Tim Coxall.
Camera Icon2018 Ronnie J Memorial winner Tim Coxall. Credit: SWB Photography

A strong field of 23 cars will contest the fifth running of the Ronnie J Street Stock Memorial race this Saturday when speedway returns to Les Gorman Park.

A total of 56 cars across five divisions had nominated earlier this week, headlined by the large contingent of street stocks.

Three previous winners of the feature race, including 2017 champion Peter Herbert, 2018 winner Tim Coxall and reigning champion Brad Carroll will all be back on the Mt Barker clay looking to capture their second win in the race.

This season’s production sedan feature winner in Mt Barker, Jason Batchelor, has changed to street stocks and will be up the pointy end with Lincoln Coleman, Paul Bowman and Herbert after the quartet all competed at the WA Street Stock Title last month.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The street stock feature race will headline a big day of racing with two divisions of production sedans along with super sedans and juniors.

The junior sedans ranks are growing with 14 cars nominated for Saturday’s meeting.

There are eight production sedan division two nominations while five cars are set to do battle in production sedan division one.

Chris Pavlovich will head the field in super sedans.

Gates open at 10am and racing starts at 1pm.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails