President ousted by just 57 votes

Saskia AdystiAlbany Advertiser

Shire of Denmark president David Morrell has been defeated by former councillor Ian Osborne in Town Ward by just 57 votes.

Mr Morrell has been a sitting councillor in Denmark for more than 20 years and was elected as the Shire president in 2015, but was not voted back in by electors in Saturday’s poll.

The newly elected Councillor Ian Osborne was a Denmark council member who lost his seat during the 2015 election.

Denmark will also welcome five new councillors into the office after 12 candidates competed for the seats during the local government election.

In Kent/Nornalup ward, Roger Seeney a former Denmark councillor, managed to defeat former sitting councillor Clem Wright by 57 votes.

Mr Roger Seeney and Mr Osborne are part of Get Denmark Back on Track, a group which campaigned hard during the run-up to this year’s local government election.

Meanwhile in Scotsdale-Shadforth Ward, Peter Caron and Mark Allen have successfully maintained their seats on the council.

Cr Allen secured the seat with 625 votes, while Cr Caron received 576 votes.

The ward will also welcome newly elected councillor Kingsley Gibson to replace Yasmin Bartlett, who resigned mid-term.

Mr Gibson is a former councillor in Capel who worked for the WA Planning Commission.

Denmark had a total of 57.85 per cent of returned election packages this year, beating its previous record of 52 per cent in 2015.

Councillors will elect a new president and deputy president at a special council meeting today.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails