Premiers, Allstars named after virus cancels finals

Taj StubberAlbany Advertiser
Albany Basketball Association A-grade women’s MVP Nardia Humphries and A-grade men’s MVP Luke McGuire.
Camera IconAlbany Basketball Association A-grade women’s MVP Nardia Humphries and A-grade men’s MVP Luke McGuire. Credit: Laurie Benson

The Albany Basketball Association wrapped up its season with premierships awarded and Allstars named after their finals were cancelled due to the rising COVID-19 crisis.

The finals series and awards nights were cancelled but the ABA announced 22 premiers and runner-ups yesterday along with five Allstars from each age division.

Premierships were awarded to teams in each age group that finished on top of their respective ladders.

Astroworld capped off a dominant Year 11/12 boys season after winning all 15 games including winning five games by over 50 points.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Grammar Spurs were runners-up after losing the second semifinal and finishing second to Astroworld.

Tyler Willmore (Astroworld), Cyrus Upson (Astroworld), Ben Brown (GSG Spurs), Pieter Coetzee (The Siberian Water Snakes) and Henrick Alforque (Railways Tigers) were Allstars.

Kinjarling won 11 games to finish on top in the Year 11/12 girls competition and claim the premiership from Comets runners-up.

Indi Weeden (Comets), Ella Scamozzi (Kinjarling), Abbi Gibson (Raiders U16), Mackenzie Pratt (Raiders U16) and Molly Dickson (Dunkin’ Donuts) were named Allstars.

Solar Sonics (Year 9/10 boys division 1) and Warriors (Year 9/10 boys division 2) were awarded their respective titles.

Flames (division 1), Denmark (division 2), Dreamteam (division 3) were the respective premiers for the Year 9/10 girl’s competition.

Railways Tigers won 10 games to finish one game clear of Grammar Hawks and claim the premiership in the Year 7/8 boys division 1 while Wildcats (Year 7/8 boys division 2) and Grammar Kings (Year 7/8 boys division 3) also finished on top of the ladder and finished winners.

Grammar Lynx (Year 7/8 girls division 1), Sapphires (Year 7/8 girls division 2) and Bethel Blitz (Year 7/8 girls division 3) claimed premierships.

Bulldogs and Little Grove Lighning were rewarded for their strong seasons in the Year 6 boys division 1 and 2 competitions while Skittles won the Year 6 girls competition.

Kinjarling Wizards (Year 5 boys) and Kinjarling Hornets (Year 5 girls) were other overall winners.

Adrian Masters won the Reside Family award for contributing to the association in a big way through coaching, refereeing or volunteering.

Weeden won the Charlie Upson Memorial Junior Sportsperson award for being a junior member who contributed in a big way.

Graham Turner won the Morris Robertson Coaches award while Kyle Hogg and Chloe Mills won the senior and junior referee award respectively.

Other MVPs were Nardia Humphries (women’s A-grade), Luke McGuire (men’s A-grade), Liam Wesson (men’s B-grade division 1), Mikaila Kowald (women’s B-grade division 1), Ryan Davies (men’s B-grade division 2), Jordan Tindale (men’s B-grade division 3), Jessica Leamon (women’s B-grade division 2), and Lennon Swann (men’s vets).

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails