Pavlovich chases back-to-back titles in bid to join rare list of champions

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Defending WA champion Chris Pavlovich will attempt to go back-to-back in Albany.
Camera IconDefending WA champion Chris Pavlovich will attempt to go back-to-back in Albany. Credit: SWB Photography

Mt Barker’s Chris Pavlovich will attempt to join a rare list of back-to-back winners when he defends his WA Super Sedan Title at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway on Saturday night.

Pavlovich heads up a field of 24 nominations for the 2019-20 edition of the State title that was originally set to be run in April but was postponed because of COVID-19.

Broome’s Warren Minshull is the only other former winner of the State title among the field for Saturday night’s contest.

Pavlovich won his maiden WA title in the 2018-19 season in Narrogin and will now look to become only the sixth competitor in WA history to win back-to-back titles.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Stan Starcevich, Peter Brook, Ben Ludlow, Marc Giancola and Kodee Brown are the only drivers to have defended their title in WA super sedan history.

“I’ve done two shows this season as a warm-up in Mt Barker and both car and driver are absolutely flying,” Pavlovich said.

“I’m not sure if we have peaked too early or like the Melbourne Cup we can lead all the way.

“A lot of luck is needed, you can have breakdowns or run out of fuel but I’m keen to come to Albany, it is a fantastic venue for these blue ribbon events and we’ll do our best to get on the podium.”

WA star Gary Higgs will again search for an elusive WA crown after being on the podium six times previously but he has never stood atop of the podium.

Gary Higgs will be out to win an elusive first State title.
Camera IconGary Higgs will be out to win an elusive first State title. Credit: SWB Photography

Albany will host the State title for the second time in three years, with Minshull defeating Higgs and Pavlovich back in 2017-18.

There will be a strong contingent of Mt Barker drivers competing, with Pavlovich joined by Peter Wallinger, Tony St Jack, Adam Campbell, Rob Knox, Damon Trouchet and Damo Wallinger.

Practice is tomorrow night before drivers compete in three qualifying heats and then the championship final on Saturday night.

A strong support program will run on Saturday with big fields of street stocks, production sedans, juniors and Formula 125s entered.

The meeting will officially kick off the new Albany Speedway Club season, that also features the WA Street Stock Title in January next year.

Gates open at 4pm and racing starts at 6pm on Saturday.

WA Super Sedan Title entries

W1 Chris Pavlovich; W3 Damon Trouchet; W4 Lee Aylett; W5 Kevin Bell; W6 Tristan Green; W7 Warren Minshull; W9 Kemble Aylett; W10 Kyle Larson; W13 Andrew Kennedy; W16 Damo Wallinger; W22 Steve Schofield; W30 Peter Wallinger; W38 Adrian Geary; W47 Zac Minshull; W55 Nathan Bell; W63 Tony St Jack; W68 Rob Knox; W71 Adam Campbell; W76 Terry Green; W81 Gary Higgs; W85 Matthew McMahon; W91 Darren Larson; W96 Stephen Larson; W98 Adyme Harvey.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails