Parker-Cole in trophy triple treat

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
North County’s Riecko Parker-Cole with his awards.
Camera IconNorth County’s Riecko Parker-Cole with his awards. Credit: Cameron Newbold

English all-rounder Riecko Parker-Cole has capped an outstanding season with North County by winning three major trophies at the Albany Cricket Association awards night on Saturday night.

One of four English players in the ACA this season, Parker-Cole had terrific impact with bat and ball and was recognised with the captains’ player of the year award.

The 19-year-old added the Mike Storm memorial all-rounder of the year gong and then claimed the prestigious Syd Harper award as the best under-21 player.

Parker-Cole won the captains’ award, a 5-4-3-2-1 voting system, in a close finish as he polled in nine matches for a total of 28 votes to edge out Railways’ Coen Marwick (25 votes). Mt Barker’s Jeremy Wood was third on 24 votes, while Railways’ Nathan Crudeli (23) and Royals’ Mitch Green (22) rounded out the top five.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


The Mike Storm award was also a close race, with Parker-Cole, who played 13 regular matches, collecting 69.7 points to win from Marwick on 66.9.

He was also the recipient of the Syd Harper award for the best under-21 cricketer in the competition, comprising local and representative performances.

Marwick and Wood tied for the umpires’ player of the year award, done on a 4-3-2-1 system.

After round 14, when Marwick polled top votes, he led the award by three votes, but Wood picked up three votes in round 15 to join him on 18.

That pair shared the award with 18 votes each, while Parker-Cole came close to a clean sweep as he ended up on 17 votes.

Manypeaks’ Warwick Durack and Collingwood Park’s Ben Grey were next best with 15 votes.

Green, in his first season with the Lions, won the batting aggregate with 469 runs and Crosby took home the batting average award with 54.14 to his name. Park quick Grey snared 25 wickets to win the bowling aggregate and English spinner Dom O’Reilly claimed the average with exactly 10.

In B-grade, Narrikup Dark’s Jeremy Watson won the three main awards plus the batting aggregate with 548 runs.

Park’s Steven Teague won the cricketer of the year, captains’ and umpires’ awards in the C-grade, while Keith Kinnear and Mark Spencer took home both bowling and batting awards respectively.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails