Pair share glory in highest points

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Brad Carroll slides underneath Aaron Richardson on his way to victory in the street stocks.
Camera IconBrad Carroll slides underneath Aaron Richardson on his way to victory in the street stocks. Credit: SWB Photography

Brad Carroll and Shane Devonshire have shared the Ken Taylor highest points award, after the pair dominated their respective classes at Mt Barker’s Les Gorman Park on Saturday afternoon.

The Ken Taylor highest points trophy goes to the Mt Barker Speedway Club member with the most points from any division but Carroll and Devonshire could not be separated, each notching three wins on the day.

In the street stocks, Carroll was the man to beat as he won two of the three qualifying heats and then the 10-lap final by 5.707 seconds over Aaron Richardson.

Richardson spoiled a perfect day for Carroll by claiming heat two, a narrow winning margin of 1.243 seconds in the end over Carroll.

Devonshire competed in the production sedans and was also a dominant force, winning two heats and the final.

Shane Devonshire won the production sedans.
Camera IconShane Devonshire won the production sedans. Credit: SWB Photography

His only slip-up came in heat three, crossing the line second to Shane Davis, but he responded to comfortably take out the 10-lap final by more than five seconds.

There was a big field of junior sedans in action at the daylight venue and Jhy Pack won an entertaining 10-lap final to also finish on top of the points for his division.

Pack set a new track record in the process for the junior sedans, his lap of 20.387 bettering the previous mark.

Nathan Thiele competes in the super sedans.
Camera IconNathan Thiele competes in the super sedans.

Bryce Fisher diced with Pack early on for the race lead but Pack was too strong in the end, downing him by 2.729 seconds while Chesta Grinham, Taj Coleman and Jarrod Pearce rounded out the top five.

Jacinta Tester won the formula 125 division, State champion Chris Pavlovich prevailed in the super sedans and in the division 2 production sedans, Trent Claybrook was successful.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails