Modifieds hit Albany, Pav misses A-main and Clark wins Mt Barker feature

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Production sedans division 2 winner Michael Clark.
Camera IconProduction sedans division 2 winner Michael Clark. Credit: SWB Photography

Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway will host round six of the WA Modified Sedan Series on Saturday night, featuring WA champion Branden Fraser.

Fraser heads up a field of 13 drivers for the penultimate round of the series to be run in conjunction with the Albany Speedway Club’s junior sedan feature.

Brendan Selleck, who won the last round, has also entered, while local trio Calon Ball, Matt Kata and Sean Theyer will be out to impress on their home clay.

Drivers will contest three rounds of heats before the pole shootout and then a 20-lap feature race to crown the round six champion.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Meanwhile in Mt Gambier, South Australia for the SSA National Super Sedan Title, Mt Barker’s Chris Pavlovich was unable to reach the 40-lap championship final.

Pavlovich was one of five WA competitors among the field of 43 entries for the national title at Borderline Speedway last weekend.

The Shire of Plantagenet president was racing in his fifth national title and won his final qualifying heat on Sunday night to finish 18th in the points standings.

That put Pavlovich into B-main 2, one of two races where the top two across the line make up the remainder of the A-main field.

Pavlovich produced an impressive drive to finished fourth behind Ash Bergmeier, Trent Wilson and Justin Smithwick but was unable to progress to the 22-car title decider. Queenslander Darren Kane became the second driver in super sedans history to win the national title on four occasions after he downed Ryan Alexander, Matt Pascoe and Mick Nicola.

Last Saturday Mt Barker Speedway held a meeting highlighted by the production sedan division 2 feature. Michael Clark prevailed in the 20-lap final, crossing the line 2.509 seconds ahead of Jake Ford while Ryan Crofts rounded out the podium in the relatively new category.

Bill Penn leads Clinton Theyer and Ron Belfield in the production sedans.
Camera IconBill Penn leads Clinton Theyer and Ron Belfield in the production sedans. Credit: SWB Photography

The division has been established as a cheaper way to get into speedway racing and has received great support in Albany and Mt Barker in the past two seasons.

In the other support divisions Jhy Pack won the junior sedan overall points, Brad Carroll was too good in the street stocks and Ron Belfield won a competitive production sedan class.

Tony St Jack (super sedans) and Tim Green (formula 125s) won their respective divisions points.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails