Minshull in pursuit of coveted three-peat

Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Email Cameron Newbold

Broome’s Warren Minshull will chase a third successive Bill Gibbings Memorial, which will be run in conjunction with this weekend’s SSA National Super Sedan Title at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway.

Minshull won back-to-back Bill Gibbings Memorial titles last season, proving too strong in a rain-affected weekend of racing.

Only Marc Giancola has won the memorial three times in a row and Minshull last season became the only other driver in history to have won the event in successive years.

This year’s 35-car field in the national title has created great interest and will make the event very difficult to win.

Former memorial winners Michael Nicola (Victoria), Kemble Aylett, Ash Bergmeier (Victoria), Dustin Higgs and Damon Trouchet are among the field.

The prestigious memorial is awarded to the highest point scorer in the super sedan division across the two nights of racing at the Easter meeting.

This season the memorial will again be contested but the usual 50-lap final for the event has been scrapped given the major national title will take preference.

Drivers will be awarded points for their respective heat races and finals to determine the memorial winner at the completion of Sunday night’s racing.

The memorial honours top super sedan competitor and long-time Albany member Bill Gibbings.

Bill Gibbings Memorial - Honour Roll

2001-02 Michael Nicola (VIC)

2002-03 Frank Does (WA)

2003-04 Marc Giancola (WA)

2004-05 Marc Giancola (WA)

2005-06 Frank Does (WA)

2006-07 Kemble Aylett (WA)

2007-08 Ash Bergmeier (VIC)

2008-09 Keith Higgs (WA)

2009-10 Marc Giancola (WA)

2010-11 Marc Giancola (WA)

2011-12 Marc Giancola (WA)

2012-13 Dustin Higgs (WA)

2013-14 Damon Trouchet (WA)

and Kemble Aylett (WA)

2014-15 Warren Minshull (WA)

2015-16 Warren Minshull (WA)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails