Marwick eyes historic Kleemann win

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser

Dominant Railways midfielder Zane Marwick is a raging favourite to become the 10th player in history to win multiple Kleemann medals when the 59th edition of the prestigious count is held at Centennial Stadium tonight.

Marwick, the 2015 winner of the HB Kleemann Medal, has enjoyed another wonderful season for the Tigers and is the unanimous choice across all six league coaches in the Great Southern Football League to take home tonight’s honour. The Albany Advertiser canvassed the six club coaches this week and all listed Marwick as their predicted winner, with varying opinions on who would finish second and third.

Marwick’s stellar season for the Tigers in the midfield has again seen him kick 27 goals and play all 15 home-and-away games.

The hard-running ball winner was the outright leader of the Albany Advertiser footballer of the year award when voting went silent in round 13, and trailed North Albany’s Matt Orzel by two votes in the coaches’ player of the year award at the same time.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Orzel appears to be one of Marwick’s main dangers despite playing just 11 games in the regular season and teammate Jack McPhee (14 games) is among the other strong contenders.

Denmark-Walpole star Ryan Gaerth is also predicted to poll well despite the Magpies winning only four games this season.

Dave Parker, the 2014 winner, is also chasing his second Kleemann Medal and starred in most of the 13 games he played.

Marwick is looking to become the first player since Kangas’ Brett Hall (2003 and 2006) to win dual Kleemann medals.

Only Hall, Jonno Woods, Shaun Colbung, Russell Jones, Gerard Cameron, Robbie Sutton, Bob Whalley, Ted Thompson and Norm Smith have achieved that feat since the medal was introduced in 1958.

Tigers player-coach Craig Frost said Marwick had enjoyed another brilliant season, very similar to his performance in 2015 when he won the medal previously.

“I think he’ll go pretty well,” Frost said.

“The games we won he was our best, or if not, in our best couple, and the games we lost he still played well.

“He was getting plenty of the ball and kicking goals as well, so that will help him.

“I’d expect in those losses he will still poll — maybe a few one votes.”

The six coaches also listed Mt Barker midfielders Nic Chidgzey and Peter Taylor and Sean Plaisted Medal winner Kym Monteath among their predications.

The coaches’ player of the year and Albany Advertiser footballer of the year will also be announced tonight along with the GSFL team of the year.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails