Local duo claim longboard titles

Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Email Cameron Newbold
Mike Neunuebel performs a headstand.
Camera IconMike Neunuebel performs a headstand. Credit: Surfing WA/Majeks

Denmark’s Mike Neunuebel and Albany’s Tony Harrison have secured State title victories after the second and final round of the WA Longboard Titles was held in ideal conditions at Parry Beach in Denmark at the weekend.

Impressive fields took part in the three-day event as surfers contested 17 divisions, with State champions crowned ahead of the national titles in August.

Neunuebel and Harrison booked their places on the WA team after brilliant performances in pristine local conditions.

State champion Tony Harrison.
Camera IconState champion Tony Harrison.

In the over-55 men’s division, Neunuebel used his traditional moves to success as he won the four-man final with a two-wave total of 13.60 out of a possible 20.

It was a narrow win as Neunuebel edged out Yallingup’s Brett Merifield (13.27) and Barrie McKinnon (12.33), claiming the State title in the process.

“Thanks to the waves, which have been really fun for us,” Neunuebel said.

“I'm stoked to win the State championship at one of my home breaks and I look forward to the challenge of the national titles.”

Open women’s winner Georgia Young.
Camera IconOpen women’s winner Georgia Young.

Harrison will join him on the State team after winning the over-70 men’s title, scoring 23.64, a combined best two-wave score from two finals.

The Albany veteran was at his best in the conditions as he won the over-70s final and also made the over-65 men’s final, finishing second to State champion Stan Davies.

Harrison’s score of 27 was just bettered by Davies with a 27.2.

Jack Medland again showed his class on the longboard, winning both the open men’s and open men’s logger State championships in resounding fashion.

Jack Medland won the open men’s title.
Camera IconJack Medland won the open men’s title.

Perth’s Georgia Young won a sixth open women’s State title and was also crowned champion in the open logger category.

In the open women’s final, Young scored 33.2, a combined best two-wave score from two finals, to beat Zali Corry (21.37) and Denmark’s Gidget Neunuebel (20.06).

Corry won the under-18 junior girls’ State crown after winning the final in Denmark over Ella Neunuebel.

Jacob McIvor.
Camera IconJacob McIvor.

Jacob McIvor won both the under-18 junior boys’ and under-18 boys’ logger titles.

After making a number of finals in Denmark, Scott Trew tasted success in the over-40 men’s division and Claire Edwards took out the over-40 women’s title.

Other State champions included Kevin Anderson (over-45 men’s and over-50 men’s), Samantha Vanderford (over-50 women’s) and Bill Gibson (over-60 men’s).

Zali Corry.
Camera IconZali Corry.

The Australian Surf Championships will take place on the Tweed Coast in NSW in August.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails