Kiwi inclusion adds spice to memorial race

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
The NZ3 car that Mark Osborne will campaign this weekend in Albany.
Camera IconThe NZ3 car that Mark Osborne will campaign this weekend in Albany.

New Zealand driver Mark Osborne is a surprise inclusion for this weekend’s annual Bill Gibbings Memorial for super sedans at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway.

The prestigious blue ribbon event has attracted more than 20 super sedans with Osborne certainly one to watch after travelling across the ditch to compete.

The multiple New Zealand Super Saloon Champion will campaign the #NZ3 car of Adrian Geary, who also hails from New Zealand.

Osborne will be one of the major contenders at the two-night event along with Gary Higgs, Chris Pavlovich, Lee Aylett and Damon Trouchet.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Higgs has never won a Bill Gibbings Memorial despite coming close numerous times and has been in terrific form this season while Pavlovich will lead the local hopes. At the WA Super Sedan Title held at Attwell Park earlier this season, Broome’s Warren Minshull defeated Higgs, Pavlovich and Aylett.

Minshull has not nominated for the memorial, which he won in 2014-15 and 2015-16 while last season’s joint winners Ryan Alexander and Michael Miller, will not be here to race. Trouchet will be the only former winner in the field, tying with Kemble Aylett for the honour in 2013-14, and he will again be one of the fancies.

The memorial will be awarded to the highest point-scorer across both nights of racing, with the event concluding with a gruelling 50-lap feature race on Sunday evening.

The popular Street Stock Rumble will also be contested across the Easter weekend, with a strong field of 14 cars currently entered.

Junior sedans and production sedans will be part of the support program with gates opening at 3pm and racing from 6pm on both nights.


Bill Gibbings Memorial - 21

NZ3 Mark Osborne

W3 Damon Trouchet

W4 Bert Vosbergen

W5 Kevin Bell

W6 Tristan Green

W8 Chris Pavlovich

W10 Kyle Larson

W11 Wayne Coleman

W25 Nathan Thiele

W30 Peter Wallinger

W34 Dean Shore

W63 Tony St Jack

W68 Rob Knox

W71 Adam Campbell

W76 Terry Green

W78 Brad Ludlow

W81 Gary Higgs

W86 Brett Higgs

W96 Stephen Larson

W99 Lee Aylett

W127 Luke O’Hanlon

Street Stock Rumble - 14

W2 Branden Fraser

W3 Luke Fraser

W4 Brad Hayes

W3 Rodney Brogmus

W19 Ben Ridley

W21 Trent Claybrook

W27 Mark Dohnt

W28 Tim Coxall

W31 Cody Avins

W44 Peter Herbert

W52 Paul Bowman

W53 Aaron Jones

W93 Paul Devonshire

W102 Mitchell Claybrook

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails