Higgs blasts to fifth Mt Barker Classic title

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser

Gary Higgs has been crowned the Mt Barker Super Sedan Classic champion for the fifth time after scoring an all-the-way win in last Saturday’s 25-lap feature race at Les Gorman Park.

Higgs came into the event with four victories to his name but the race had eluded him since 2014, with local Chris Pavlovich winning two in a row and, most recently, Nathan Masson prevailing in a rain-effected event.

However, Higgs did not put a foot wrong in the 11th running of the Classic as he led from start to finish in a dominant display, crossing the line 3.306 seconds ahead of his nearest rival.

Damon Trouchet started on the front row alongside Higgs but was shuffled back to third place by Lee Aylett until the last five laps of the main event as he wrested back second place.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Pavlovich had slipped as low as fifth position before he recovered to grab third spot ahead of Aylett, while Rob Knox rounded out the top five.

Earlier, Higgs won two heat races, while Bert Vosbergen, Pavlovich, Trouchet and Aylett shared the other preliminaries.

Trouchet was award the Betty Masson (Belfield) Trophy.

In the support divisions, Hope Batchelor topped the junior sedans, Peter Herbert won the street stocks and Jason Batchelor was too strong in the production sedans.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails