Harold Keay wins record-breaking sixth Dymes Cup with Shagabull, Josh Hughes aboard Joker wins division two

Des BeeckAlbany Advertiser
Harold Keay, centre, with his crew of Shagabull after their Dymes Cup win.
Camera IconHarold Keay, centre, with his crew of Shagabull after their Dymes Cup win. Credit: Des Beeck

Princess Royals Sailing Club commodore and division-one skipper Harold Keay sailed into the history books when he won his sixth Dymes Cup with Shagabull on Saturday.

Meanwhile division-two yacht Joker owned by Josh Hughes and skippered on the day by Chris Oldham recorded their fourth win in the event.

The weather was ideal for sailing with a steady southerly about 11 knots that was a bit flukey at times, keeping skippers on their toes.

Division one had a fleet of four in their handicap-start harbour course event.

The First boat away was Geoff Oliver in Excitabull, who was looking strong.

Harold Keay began his quest for glory with Shagabull with skeleton crew and had a close encounter with Excitabull as both took turns in leading in the early stages.

Brett Hawker in Jessie James was chasing, as was scratch boat Scappata skippered by Craig Anderson.

Keay was able to get away from Oliver and it’s well known that when Keay gets to the front in a handicap race it’s usually all but over as he rarely surrenders his lead.

Scappata and Jessie James were locked in battle for third place and eventually Anderson pushed ahead.

Keay took Shagabull over the line to win his sixth Dymes Cup with Oliver taking second as Anderson finished in third place.

Chris Oldham, left, skippered Joker to its fourth Dymes Cup victory.
Camera IconChris Oldham, left, skippered Joker to its fourth Dymes Cup victory. Credit: Des Beeck

Division two had a fleet of four and Peter Bane skippering Dunluce was the limit boat with a nice handicap, staying in front for most of the journey.

Joker began to crank up to get past Stephen Brown’s Mary Maitland and to keep Stephen Lee’s Flasheart at bay.

Bane was doing well until the latter stages of the race when Chris Oldham made his move with Joker to hit the lead, with the only pressure now from Flasheart which was hampered with a tangled spinnaker.

Joker screamed home to win its fourth Dymes Cup with Flasheart second and a gallant Dunluce in third place.

In the Flying Fifteens, Aileen Lucas in Crazy had a two-minute start over Simon Lucas sailing solo in FForever Young.

It was amazing sailing by Simon Lucas as he was both skipper and crew and skilfully hoisted his spinnaker on every opportunity.

Crazy was able to maintain its lead throughout with FForever Young slowly closing the gap but all to no avail as Aileen Lucas won by a minute from Simon Lucas.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails