Gun Albany rider Beau LeFort sizzles his rivals in the first of Albany Cycling Club’s championship races

Albany Advertiser
Beau LeFort in action last month.
Camera IconBeau LeFort in action last month. Credit: Laurie Benson

The first of the Albany Cycling Club’s 2021 championship races was contested by a small but enthusiastic field of 14 riders in overcast conditions last Saturday.

The President’s Cup is awarded to the fastest rider over the 40km individual time trial discipline with the other three championship events, the Ralph Flowers Hill Climb and long and shortcourse races, to be contested in coming months to decide the 2021 club champions.

Starting and finishing on Settlement Road in Napier, riders raced to the turnaround point almost at Albany Highway near Narrikup, then returned with Beau LeFort putting his name on the President’s Cup alongside previous winners Craig Wiggins, Stuart Passmore and Carl Beck.

LeFort recorded the fastest time over the 41km course of 57min. 8sec. followed by Riley Heslop in the almost equally impressive time of 58:14.

Brent Schoof, in his first time trial over this distance, recorded a great time of 1:03:28, ahead of Denmark’s Colin Ashton-Graham (1:06:13) and Jacob Crowe (1:07:12) following on from his strong performance in last weekend’s Albany Sprint Triathlon.

Other excellent times came from David Beckwith (1:08:34) and Ryan McLaren (1:10:54).

Danica Wiggins, in her first season in senior ranks, smashed out the brilliant time of 1:12:05 in one of her first races over this distance.

Second woman home was Liz Cooper in the excellent time of 1:16:51 and Stephanie Bennett chose a difficult discipline in her club debut but finished in the very meritorious time of 1:24:58.

Julie Passmore, Michael Gardiner and Brendan Mencshelyi rode in a team format and possibly wished at times that they hadn’t as they recorded a breathtakingly fast time of 1:11:52.

There will be a pause in racing this weekend to accommodate the MSWA ride and then next Saturday afternoon riders will assemble at the Great Southern Grammar for the annual Kees Glorie Memorial handicap trophy race.

This race goes to Two People’s Bay before returning. It is one of the most brutal races on the calendar and one of the most sought-after trophies.

Formerly known as the Two People’s Bay race it was re-named in honour and memory of former member, Kees Glorie, who was killed when hit by a car whilst riding to work in March, 2010.

Glorie won the race in 2009, his first win whilst a member with the club.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails