GSFL 2023: Anzac Day medallist polls perfect 10 in first round of coaches’ player of the year award

Headshot of Cameron Newbold
Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Railways' Dylan Schorer polled a perfect 10.
Camera IconRailways' Dylan Schorer polled a perfect 10. Credit: Laurie Benson/RegionalHUB

Anzac Day medallist Dylan Schorer polled a perfect 10 from the coaches for his performance on Tuesday in Railways victory over North Albany.

The Great Southern Football League Coaches’ Player of the Year Award is back in 2023 and again sponsored by WFI’s Darrell Panizza.

Schorer was awarded the Anzac Day Medal for his outstanding performance in the special fixture that completed round one.

He was busy winning plenty of the ball through the midfield, laying tackles and capped his game with a goal as the Tigers won by 32 points.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


New Albany recruit Jack Beeck collected nine votes in his GSFL debut, playing a big role in the Sharks mauling of Denmark-Walpole on Saturday.

Royals veteran Ryan Kinnear also featured prominently in the opening round, attracting eight votes in his side’s draw with Mt Barker at Retravision Stadium, while Bulls midfielder Scott Price picked up seven in the same game.

Five players sit on five votes after the first round, including former AFL player and Sharks forward Brett Peake who bagged seven goals.

Each league coach votes 5-4-3-2-1 from players on both side’s at the end of every game.

2023 Coaches’ Player of the Year Award - Round 1

Denmark-Walpole v Albany

Brad Nisbett

5- Jack Beeck (ALB)

4- Robbie Lee (ALB)

3- Brett Peake (ALB)

2- Isaac Baum (ALB)

1- Cam Jones (ALB)

Jamie Ramm

5- Bryce Blaszkow (ALB)

4- Jack Beeck (ALB)

3- Cam Jones (ALB)

2- Brett Peake (ALB)

1- Reagan Hutchinson (DW)

Royals v Mt Barker

Andrew Ruck

5- Scott Price (MB)

4- Ryan Kinnear (ROY)

3- Taylor Powell (ROY)

2- Mitch Jackson (MB)

1- Joel Gray (MB)

Brad Hook

5- Daniel Patching (MB)

4- Ryan Kinnear (ROY)

3- Mitch Jackson (MB)

2- Scott Price (MB)

1- Taylor Powell (ROY)

Railways v North Albany

Mark Bayliss

5- Dylan Schorer (RAIL)

4- Logan Stubber (RAIL)

3- Mitch Green (RAIL)

2- Nick Barrow (NA)

1- Jayden Scott (RAIL)

Brad Bootsma

5- Dylan Schorer (RAIL)

4- Joel Want (RAIL)

3- Jayden Bootsma (NA)

2- Mitch Green (RAIL)

1- Nick Barrow (NA)

2023 Coaches’ Player of the Year Award - Leaderboard

10: Dylan Schorer (RAIL)

9: Jack Beeck (ALB)

8: Ryan Kinnear (ROY)

7: Scott Price (MB)

5: Brett Peake (ALB)

Bryce Blaszkow (ALB)

Mitch Jackson (MB)

Daniel Patching (MB)

Mitch Green (RAIL)

4: Robbie Lee (ALB)

Cam Jones (ALB)

Taylor Powell (ROY)

Logan Stubber (RAIL)

Joel Want (NA)

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails