F125 titles return to Albany, Sayer’s quest for third 5000 crown

Cameron NewboldAlbany Advertiser
Email Cameron Newbold
WA formula 125 senior champion Nathen Tester.
Camera IconWA formula 125 senior champion Nathen Tester. Credit: SWB Photography

Nathen Tester and Jasmin Ellis will defend their respective senior and junior crowns when more than 30 formula 125s compete in the WA title at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway on Saturday night.

The meeting will also double as the Amazing Albany 5000 for production sedans that has attracted a field of more than 15 cars in its fourth edition.

Albany competitor Tester will attempt to win back-to-back senior titles on his home surface, but will face stiff opposition from the likes of former State champions Sam and Braiden Jewell and Darren Cartwright.

Local drivers will make up 13 of the 16 nominations in the senior ranks with Jacinta Tester also expected to be at the pointy end.

Narrogin’s Jasmin Ellis is part of strong visiting contingent in the junior formula 125 division.

There are eight juniors from Narrogin and six making the long trek from Geraldton while Cameron Tester is the sole Albany chance.

Both formula 125 divisions will have three qualifying heats and final.

Leading production sedan driver Kyle Sayer will chase a third straight win in the Amazing Albany 5000 which has a $2000 first prize.

Kyle Sayer is chasing an Amazing Albany 5000 hat-trick.
Camera IconKyle Sayer is chasing an Amazing Albany 5000 hat-trick. Credit: SWB Photography

Laurie Dowsett won the inaugural event back in 2016-17 and Sayer has claimed the last two editions of the race.

Multiple national and State champion Ron Belfield has entered along with current late-model competitor and former modified sedan WA champ Aydan Trewern, who jumps into the seat of the Finlay Mills car.

Jake Avins, Jason Batchelor and David Merini are also ones to watch in the Amazing Albany 5000.

Three qualifying heats will be followed by a feature race for the production sedans.

Street stocks, production sedans division 2, juniors and limited sprintcars will race as the support program.

Gates open at 4pm and racing starts at 6pm.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails