Dominant Dovey scoops cricket awards pool

Tim EdmundsAlbany Advertiser

Nathan Dovey’s dominant season with the willow was recognised with five major awards at the Albany Cricket Association awards night last Saturday.

The Collingwood Park batsman took home the three major A-grade awards including umpires’ player of the year, captains’ player of the year and the Mike Storm Memorial All-rounder of the Year to cap a stand-out season.

The opener finished five votes clear of Denmark’s Jujhar Johal (28) in the captain’s player of the year and polled 26 votes in the umpire’s player of the year, ahead of Railways captain’s Zane Marwick (19) and Mt Barker duo Nathan Crosby and Tim Fitzgerald (both 18).

Dovey fell just short of Craig Tonkin’s batting aggregate record of 841 runs but still finished with 814 runs at an average of 74, 319 more runs than his closest rival Tonkin on 495 to take out both the batting aggregate and average awards.

Mt Barker speedster Jacob Wintle received the bowling aggregate award finishing with 28 wickets, three ahead of teammate Tim Fitzgerald who claimed the bowling average of 6.32.

Johal was also the recipient of the Syd Harper Award for best under-21 cricket in the competition, comprising local and representative performances for Albany as well as taking out Twenty20 player of the year.

In the lower grades, Narrikup’s James Morris claimed the trifecta of the captains, umpires and cricketer of the year awards as well as taking out the bowling average.

Teammate’s Alec Haskins and Craig Halligan took out the batting and bowling aggregates respectively.

In the C-grade, Narrikup’s John Miell also enjoyed a stand-out season, winning the three major awards after a dominant season with the bat where he smashed 543 runs at an average of 90.50.

North County veteran Harley Coyne claimed the bowling aggregate and average awards after snaring 22 wickets.

Association and Manypeaks stalwart Keith Kinnear was presented with life membership to the Albany Cricket Association while Brian Bracknell was announced as umpire of the year.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails