Determination pays off for gutsy Great Southern girls

Taj StubberAlbany Advertiser
Albany Cycle Club Women’s B-Grade champions in action.
Camera IconAlbany Cycle Club Women’s B-Grade champions in action. Credit: PB Photography

Albany Cycle Club was represented by riders in three teams at the Tour of Margaret River over the weekend, with the Passmore Cycles women’s team taking out the B-grade title.

Almost 600 riders in more than 100 teams competed in four stages across the three-day event in Nannup. The Passmore Cycles team consisted of Albany students Jessica Waldron, 16, Emily Wiggins, 15 and Danica Wiggins, 17 along with Denmark powerhouse Kea Mumford, Julie Passmore, and guest rider Lucy Baptist from Perth.

The team took the final stage team time trial win.

Emily Wiggins was second in women’s B on stage 2 and stage 3, Danica Wiggins finished fourth in stage 2 and stage 3, Waldron was sixth in stage 3 and Mumford placed seventh in stage 2.

The Wiggins duo and Beau Lefort also took part in the hectic Friday night street criterium.

Danica Wiggins battles her way through the warm conditions.
Camera IconDanica Wiggins battles her way through the warm conditions. Credit: PB Photography

Danica Wiggins put in an impressive ride to take fourth place in women’s A-grade while Emily Wiggins was well-placed for the A-grade sprint before sliding out on the final corner after another rider crashed into her.

Teams were seeded into categories following a 27km team time trial on Friday which saw Beau Lefort and his Dome Coffees Men battle it out in A-grade, Denmark Mighty Helpful in G-grade and the all-female Passmore Cycles Team in women’s B-grade.

Beau Lefort worked hard with his team across the weekend for a final team placing of fourth and an impressive individual effort of 17th overall among elite riders including national road champion Michael Freiberg, Lars Boom, Guy Kalma, Theo Yates and motorcycle Grand Prix racer Bryan Staring.

Youngster Ande Powys, 17, led his more mature Denmark teammates Colin Ashton-Graham, David Beckwith, Greg Crawford, Michael Garland and Andrew Lefort to fourth overall in category G.

Danica Wiggins, left, leads the pack during her race.
Camera IconDanica Wiggins, left, leads the pack during her race. Credit: PB Photography

Powys also took first place in category G on Sunday’s Mur de Hay category which finished with a brutal uphill climb at the end of 70km.

Team member Julie Passmore said the event was of a high standard.

“There were stand out performances from our young riders Emily, Danica, Jess and Ande, as well as experienced favourite Kea,” she said.

“Beau Lefort also stepped it up a notch riding well in A-grade with Perth-based Dome Coffees Cycling Team.

Emily Wiggins leads her older sister Danica Wiggins.
Camera IconEmily Wiggins leads her older sister Danica Wiggins. Credit: PB Photography

“Danica, Jess and Emily really shone in the final team time trial to not only keep a 20 second lead on challengers Midland Cycles but to stretch it out to two minutes putting the women’s B-grade win beyond doubt.

“I’m really proud of the determination, strength and sportsmanship shown by our younger riders across the weekend, as well as the encouragement and guidance from the more mature riders and our support crews.”

The Tour of Margaret River attracted guest rider multiple world champion Marianne Vos, former Tour de France green jersey winner Robbie McEwen and current national road champion Freiberg.

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails